Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 1/31

↠ We’re in the middle of a heat wave! Today was in the 60s and I was driving around with the windows down. Can the rest of winter stay like this please and thank you ♥

↠ Earlier this week we had another #HistoricalFix chat – obvs I was using my mug that night! If you missed it, I compiled a list of the books mentioned and HOO BOY the recs were on fire! There were so many books we discussed that were new to me! Totally blaming y’all for my never-ending TBR piles! Our February chat will be 2/24 at 8:30 EST and will be our very first book club chat! AAHHH I still can’t believe that’s a real thing. We’ll be discussing Alyssa Palombo’s The Violinist of Venice and Alyssa will be chatting with us too!

↠ Did you hear about the NEW BEATRIX POTTER STORY that was recently discovered?!? It’s called The Tale of Kitty-in-Boots and will be published this fall! If that’s not exciting enough, QUENTIN BLAKE IS ILLUSTRATING IT!!!! BRB DYING

↠ Speaking of Quentin Blake, The Guardian posted this fun Which Roald Dahl Character are You? quiz. I got the BFG!

↠ I wouldn’t say I’m in a slump, but lately I just haven’t been able to get into any books. I’ve read some fantastic ones this month and have some ARCs I’m super excited for, but right now I’m feeling very blah. I’m currently reading Wild Wood, a time travely romance (??) that reminds me a lot of Outlander because the guy is in Scotland in the 1300s. I’m all about fluffy and swoony right now, so this is a-okay by me!

Missed something this week? I shared my unreviewed reads (aka LOTS of good ones + a new series I’m now hooked on…and a dud) and recapped January!

FOR REVIEW

Grayling’s Song by Karen Cushman
NEW KAREN CUSHMAN NEW KAREN CUSHMAN!!! Does it even matter what the book is about?? NO but I already know it’ll be awesome: mothers who turn into trees, weather witches, a shape-shifting mouse who can talk. Yes, yes, and yes! Thank you, Clarion Books!

The Only Thing Worse Than Me is You by Lily Anderson
This one sounds very fandomy (Doctor Who, Firefly, comics, etc) so I’m expecting fantastic things! Trixie’s class rank has fallen to number four and she’s determined to knock Ben down a spot…until Trixie’s bestie starts dating Ben’s best friend. Suddenly she’s forced to play nice. A geeky, nerdy romance?? I am SO there! Thank you, St. Martin’s Griffin!

One thought on “weekly wrap-up 1/31

Leave a Reply

