January 2016 recap!


Our pup loves the snow!
Um, there must be some mistake. There’s no way it’s the end of the month, right? RIGHT?? What. January flew but I’m not complaining since February = vacation!

It’s been a pretty quiet month on the blog but I have big things planned so that’s okay! Let’s take a look back on January:

I REVIEWED…
SECRETS SHE KEPT BY CATHY GOHLKE: WWII, dual narrative, family secrets, a covered-up past. Secrets She Kept was practically a book written for me! Unfortunately, the second half of the novel couldn’t keep with the momentum of the beginning. I fully admit to being in the minority on this one though!

DOWNWARD FACING DEATH BY MICHELLE KELLY: aka when yoga ends in murder. This start to a new series was everything I wanted in a cozy: yoga, England, vegan recipes! It even includes breathing/meditation techniques (you’d need them too if you discovered a dead body in your yoga studio!)

A TASTE FOR NIGHTSHADE BY MARTINE BAILEY: 1700s England + a women hellbent on revenge. Another book that had my name written all over it! Sadly, it wasn’t nearly as engaging as I had hoped.

UNREVIEWED ROUNDUP: My love for Agatha Christie shines, I have another Kurt Vonnegut under my belt, Lyndsay Faye‘s historical mystery series has me hooked already, and a quirky Spanish romantic comedy!

I DISCUSSED…
COOKIES, NETFLIX, + BOOK CLUBS: a rundown of what’s been going on in my life. Christmas festivities, Netflix binges, a few treats I gave to myself, and more talk of the #HistoricalFix BOOK CLUB!!

OUR MEAT-FREE MONTH: A few months ago Matt challenged me to a month of no meat and we decided to do it in December. I really had a good time writing this post and thinking back on our month. At the end I mentioned I was still interested in continuing with vegetarianism – and so far I’ve stuck with it! There was a LOT of self-reflection going on here!

ODDS + ENDS
LEAH’S TOP READS OF 2015 (PART 2): My favorites from July – December. I read some good books last year; here’s looking at you, 2016!

3 LESSER-KNOWN POE STORIES: I’m a big Edgar Allan Poe fan and for his birthday I wanted to highlight a few short stories that aren’t as widely read.

2016: THE YEAR OF REALISTIC GOALS: I have some reading resolutions…and they’re pretty doable!

WEEKLY WRAP-UP 1/10
WEEKLY WRAP-UP 1/17
WEEKLY WRAP-UP 1/24

One thought on “January 2016 recap!

Leave a Reply

