Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 1/24

↠ Has Jonas reached your city? All week the forecasters were going back and forth on how much (or how little) we’d get, ultimately deciding on 1-3″. That’s actually pretty low for a snowstorm in January in Pittsburgh. But loool Matt and I had to do a grocery run Friday night and you’d have thought the apocalypse hit. People were crowded around the milk, batteries were completely wiped out, the lady in line behind us had one of those massive cases of toilet paper.

↠ You know how much snow we got? A few inches. Like they said. Not the two feet people were expecting. Baylor def loved it! She’s such a little kid. I had the blinds open because it was so pretty and sunny out…and she saw snow. So we took her out and let her run around for a bit – and she immediately passed out once we came inside.

↠ I’m currently 10 books into my goal and I’m thrilled to say 7 of those books were written by women! Last year I read a ton of female authors without noticing, but now that I’m aware I’m definitely leaning more toward the ladies! (see also: my year of reading women)

↠ Speaking of! This week I (finally!) finished The Gods of Gotham by Lyndsay Faye. 1840s historical mystery, New York, newly formed police force. All the glowing reviews were spot-on. I’ll do a mini-review for this one toward the end of the month (which eek is next week what!) but I really enjoyed it and the audio was excellent. I also finished another ♥ Agatha Christie ♥ novel, Evil Under the Sun (I can’t with Poirot’s sass) and have somehow convinced Matt to watch the Poirot series with me! We’re jumping around with the episodes – don’t judge! – because I don’t want any of the reveals to be spoiled for me! So we’ve only watched the episodes for the stories I’ve already read…which only adds to my obsession and I need to read more! My snow day was spent with The Widow and, guys, it’s worth the hype. I’ll talk more about this one next month but holyyy I was completely sucked in!

↠ I received the loveliest surprise from Erin: goat’s milk fudge (DELISH!!) and a #HistoricalFix mug that says I’d read that so hard on the back. Loooove! + a reminder: we started a book club! and the next chat is 1/26, 8:30 EST! As always, Happy (half) Hour will be starting at 8:00 EST and it’s always such a blast.

Missed something on the blog this week? Tuesday was Edgar Allan Poe’s birthday and to celebrate I shared three lesser-known stories to read! I also decided to be reasonable with my reading goals (sadly I can’t read all the books) and discussed my realistic aims.

& BOOKS!
FOR REVIEW
Jane Steele by Lyndsay Faye + Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte (Thank you, Penguin!)
I was floored when this package arrived – the swag is awesome! Jane Steele is a reimagining of Jane Eyre with serial killers. Um, yes please. So, SO excited for this one and I can’t wait to dive in! (also, that strawberry pomegranate tea totally didn’t stand a chance. yum.)

The House of Dreams by Kate Lord Brown (Thank you, Thomas Dunne Books!)
I received a copy of The Perfume Garden last year and when I saw she was coming out with a new book I immediately reached out to the publicist. Told between the 1940s and 2000, this one tells the story of an artist’s secret, a struggling journalist, and the truth behind the real Casablanca.

I’ll See You in Paris by Michelle Gable (Thank you, Thomas Dunne Books!)
I was sent an ARC of this a few months ago, but this finished copy is gorgeous! Back in 2014 I reviewed Gable’s debut, A Paris Apartment, and am looking forward to her follow-up. A fiance lost in the Vietnam War. A new life in England and the magic of Paris. Thirty years later the young woman’s daughter is now grown and newly engaged – she wants to know about her father: who he was and what happened to him. Family secrets and war-torn love stories are my jam.

BOUGHT
Hercule Poirot: The Complete Short Stories by Agatha Christie
…do I really need to explain?

FROM THE LIBRARY (not pictured because some are pretty old and not looking so nice!)
Wheel of the Infinite by Martha Wells
I’ve been craving a good epic fantasy and the reviews for this one are positively glowing! POC characters, a woman with a shadowy past, a mandala that must be remade every century to keep the peace and harmony – until it shows a evil coming.

Summers at Castle Auburn by Sharon Shinn
More fantasy, yay! I feel this is one of those books I would have devoured if I read it when it was originally published (2001.) Two girls used to spend their summers as a castle where one fell in love with a handsome prince.

Gentlemen Prefer Blondes by Anita Loos
(the version my library had available is a copy from the 60s and it’s definitely seen better days!) Confession time: I’ve never seen this movie. I actually had no idea what the book was about until a new reprint brought it to my attention, calling it “the delirious Jazz Age classic that Edith Wharton called ‘the Great American Novel.'” Okay, go on, I’m intrigued. One of my goals for this year is to squeeze in some classics, and with its epistolary format, I don’t see any reason why I shouldn’t get through this one in record time.

Tom’s Midnight Garden by Philippa Pearce
At one point a few years ago I had become interested in old school YA fantasy. And when I mean old school, I mean this book originally came out in the 50s. I had forgotten all about it until I was recently cleaning out some goodreads shelves. As Tom lies awake at night, he listens to the grandfather clock chime…and hears thirteen bells. As he leaves his bedroom to investigate, he discovers a magical garden that only he can enter.

Devil in Winter by Lisa Kleypas
This one was a total guilty pleasure grab. I have a nice, long vacation coming up soon and would love nothing more than to curl up with a swoony historical romance. Villains as love interests is an absolute favorite trope of mine!

Snow White Red-Handed by Maia Chance
♥ A new cozy! This is the first in the Fairy Tale Fatal Mystery series – do I need to say more? A Victorian actress, the haunted Black Forest, the remains of Snow White’s cottage. Yes, yes, and yes.

6 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 1/24

  1. I love when people who live in areas that should be used to snow overreact. It never fails to make me laugh. A lot. I wonder how all those people who felt the need to hoard bread feel now. LOL!

Leave a Reply

