Uncategorized

3 lesser-known Poe stories to read!

Yesterday was Edgar Allan Poe’s birthday (207 looks good on you, Eddy!) If you know me, you know I’m a huge Poe fan. I’ve celebrated his birthday a few times on the blog, as well as his deathday. And it’s a total coincidence that Matt is from Baltimore and still has family there which gives me a ready-made excuse to revisit the Poe museum! (If you’ve never been, I highly recommend it!!)

I’m sure everyone is familiar with poems like The Raven and stories such as The Pit and the Pendulum, The Fall of the House of Usher, and my absolute favorite, The Cask of Amontillado, but what about his stories that weren’t as widely known? Stories that aren’t still required reading in schools the world around? So in celebration of Poe, here are three stories you might not have heard of, but are definitely worth the read!

MORNING ON THE WISSAHICCON | 1843

But, even of this delicious region, the sweeter portion are reached only by the bypaths. Indeed, in American generally, the traveler who would behold the finest landscapes, much seek them not by the railroad, nor by the steamboat, not by the stage-coach, nor in his private carriage, not yet even on horseback – but on foot. He must walk, he must leap ravines, he must risk his neck among precipices, or he must leave unseen the truest, the richest, and most unspeakable glories of the land.

Initially you would think this is a love letter to America’s natural wonders, but with Poe, nothing is ever as it seems.

THE SPHINX | 1845

I was now immeasurably alarmed, for I considered the vision either as an omen of my death, or, worse, as the fore-runner of an attack of mania.

As an illness tears through the city, a man and takes refuge in a relative’s cottage. One day, while reading, he glances out the window and witnesses a terrible monster – a monster his relative cannot see.

THE SPECTACLES | 1850

It is useless, of course, to dwell upon my joy – upon my transport – upon my illimitable ecstasy of heart. If ever man was mad with excess of happiness, it was myself at that moment. I loved. This was my first love – so I felt it to be. It was love supreme – indescribable. It was “love at first sight;” and at first sight, too, it had been appreciated and – returned.

A comedy – yep, Poe wrote several funny stories! – about a young man who’s too vain to wear glasses…until he falls madly in love.

Are you a Poe fan?? What are your favorite poems? Favorite stories?

Curious about other Poe reviews and posts? They can be found here!

4 thoughts on “3 lesser-known Poe stories to read!

  1. Good idea to pick out these three. I have read The Sphinx but haven’t heard of the others before. It is hard to pick a favorite but Annabel Lee is definitely one of mine.

Leave a Reply

