weekly wrap-up 1/10


my winter nights

↠ So technically it’s the second weekend of the new year, but I never made a wrap-up for last week – shh! How was your week? Read anything good? Watch anything good? I’ve got a nice, long vacation coming up next month and plan on binging hard on some shows! GIVE ME YOUR RECS.

↠ I recently bought the Wizarding collection candle set from Novelly Yours (run by the lovely Brittany.) Not only did they arrive ridiculously fast, but they also smell amazing! My house is seriously candle city and I can’t recommend these enough – she has other characters/books as well.

↠ Haaa it’s been too long since I’ve done a wrap-up post apparently, because I went with a picture of my pup before remembering what I usually feature (books.) Oops! So none of these are pictured (obvs) but the books I received this week are:
FROM THE PUBLISHER
The Widow by Fiona Barton | pitched at 2016’s It Thriller (thank you, NAL!)
Downward Facing Death by Michelle Kelly | yoga studio, vegan recipes, giant pup, and murder (thank you, Minotaur!)
A Taste for Nightshade by Martine Bailey | historical novel following a female criminal’s quest for revenge (thank you, Thomas Dunne Books!)

FROM NETGALLEY
The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl by Melissa Keil | part graphic novel, part novel. doomsday enthusiasts, comics, and a love of bad tv (thank you, Peachtree!)
Into the Dim by Janet B. Taylor | earthquake, Scotland, secret society of time travelers, stuck in the 12th century (thank you, HMH!)

FROM THE LIBRARY
Rosemary: the Hidden Kennedy Daughter by Kate Clifford Larson | American royalty and the disabled daughter they hid away

Missed any posts this week? I talked about the holidays and my recent netflix binges, I reviewed the previous mentioned Downward Facing Death (I rarely read a book immediately after receiving it – this one was good!) and put books on hold to discuss a meat-free challenge Matt and I did!

3 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 1/10

  1. Sarah @ The Country Bookworm says:

    I also received The Widow from the publisher…I’m about halfway through it, I’m a bit skeptical of the comparisons to Gone Girl/Girl on the Train, but trying to keep an open mind. I read a lot within this genre/style of writing, and I don’t necessarily think it’s a good thing to compare them all to Gone Girl.

    • Leah says:

      I’m a biiiig fan of thrillers and mysteries (psychological or otherwise) and have definitely noticed the whole Next Gone Girl/Girl on the Train/etc. Personally, I hate those comparisons (especially next Harry Potters!) I saw the GG movie and thought it was fun, but have never read the book and Girl on the Train was SO disappointing. But I love me some mindtwisty rides, so I’m looking forward to spending time with this one.

Leave a Reply

