Uncategorized

lately.

>↠ Okay, confession time: for such a huge bookworm, I rarely purchase books. That’s not to say I never do (haha, one look at my house and you’ll see I have a ridiculous amount of them!) but I spend wisely. For years and years I would buy just about any book I came across…which led to some pretty awful, regrettable purchases. These days I take the time to really think about books before buying them. Is this an author I’ve enjoyed in the past? Have I heard good things about this book from people I trust? Is this simply a shiny new thing that I want in my life? ANYWAY, since the buzz for the upcoming Jungle Book movie has been massive, I’ve been wanting to read the book. Surprisingly I’ve never read it before! When I saw this beautiful Puffin Classics copy yesterday (and at such an awesome price!) I knew it was coming home with me.

↠ Yesterday was a total girls’ day. Two good friends and I spent the day browsing through the boutiques in town: Rosewood, Bellwether (a blogger-owned pop-up shop that turned into a permanent store in August!) of course my all-time favorite juice bar Salud, basically we spent the afternoon hanging out in town and we had such a great time ♥

NaNoWriMo anyone? I’m falling a bit behind and to make up for it, last night I decided to write a side story focusing on the villain. The supernaturaly, paranormaly, totally evil and vile villain. LOVE.

↠ ALSO, NaNo has severely cut into my reading time, which I knew would happen. So far this month I’ve finished two books: the so, so, so amazing Along the Infinite Sea by Beatriz Williams and Emma Trevayne’s The Accidental Afterlife of Thomas Marsden.

↠ Earlier this week we celebrated our three month adoptaversary! I grew up with dogs and have loved each and every one of them dearly, but Baylor is something special ♥ It honestly is a little surreal to think it’s only been three months since we brought her home with us. She instantly became our baby and it truly feels like she’s been with us forever.

↠ In addition to The Jungle Book I received a few ARCs recently. A Dictionary of Mutual Understanding by Jackie Copleton (WWII historical fiction + family drama ♥!) The Charm Bracelet by Viola Shipman (dual era family saga!) and one of my most anticipated 2016 releases, Black Rabbit Hall by Eve Chase (dual era, English manor, SECRETS!)

One thought on “lately.

Leave a Reply

