lately: Rainbow Rowell, Buffy, recent reads, + more

↠ The oh so lovely Rainbow Rowell came to Pittsburgh earlier this month and a big group of my friends decided that WE NEED TO BE THERE. She was an absolute doll, needs to take me shopping, and went on about her love of fanfiction. She also told us about a time when she made a fool out of herself in front of one of her favorite authors – ha, it’s comforting to know she has those moments too! The signing was the craziest: by the time we got our chance to go up, she had already been signing and talking to fans for three hours. I told her she smelled nice.

I started watching Buffy! I took a few weeks off work and for about a week or so it was yucky and cold and rainy. The perfect kind of weather for snuggling with a pup and watching teen dramas. I honestly don’t know why I didn’t watch this while it was originally airing: Buffy is a total Leah show! I’m kind of obsessed now.

↠ Matt and I recently celebrated our anniversary and I celebrated by…hanging out at a farm. Can you blame me? Last year I shared our instalove story. You know, for as much as I gripe about it in books, it works out pretty well in real life ♥ This summer we purchased our first home and Baylor came soon after.

RECENT READS: I’m going back to Hogwarts, this time with Goblet of Fire. If you haven’t been following my posts, I recently decided to binge on the books in a series I’m calling Operation Return to Hogwarts. Tomorrow my review of the new Jennifer Donnelly, These Shallow Graves will be up: though I enjoyed this one it wasn’t without a few flaws and I’m a little disappointed by the cover. I think it’s fab, but it also feels like more of a Horror-type cover which this book is most definitely not. I read my first 2016 novel: Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel. A little girl falls through a hole and lands on a gigantic hand. Seventeen years later she’s the head of a team sent to discover the rest of the body. This one is told through reports and interviews and is seriously fantastic! Unfortunately, I’ve been picking up a lot of duds lately: Benjamin Percy’s The Dead Lands was one of my most anticipated releases of the year (um, hello, Lewis & Clark reimagining?!) but I only managed to get 56% of the way through the audio before calling it quits. This is definitely an it’s not you, it’s me deal: I was under the impression that this book was about THE Lewis & Clark…and that’s not the case. The characters simply share the names. Also, I knew going in that this was an apocalyptic/dystopian novel and I do NOT like that genre, but I was still looking forward to it. Despite getting halfway through the book I honestly couldn’t tell you what happened. There were gigantic vampire bats and a flu..and that’s about it. Very disappointed with this one. I’m hoping my current read will get me back on track: The Diabolical Miss Hyde (one of my Tackling the TBR picks) is a steampunk reimagining of Jekyll and Hyde. So far I’m loving it!

↠ Did you miss Lynn Carthage’s guest post last week? She talked about a VERY interesting ancestor. Lynn was one of the lovely authors we invited to chat with us in our #HistoricalFix chat. And, like always, if you happened to miss out on the recommendations mentioned throughout the chat, I’ve compiled a GoodReads list.

Leave a Reply

