Uncategorized

sailing the high seas.

Last week I turned 27 and for my birthday I wanted to do something a bit low key and relaxed. The day before was Labor Day and we had a big family get-together complete with cake and the day before that, my super awesome amazing friend made me probably the best cake ever (why yes, that is Tom Selleck – check out Cake Wrecks if you’re unfamiliar with its origins!) so for my day, I wanted to do something completely different.

And when it came down to it, there was only one thing I had in mind: a Gateway Clipper trip! It had been years since my last ride (a field trip in elementary school!) and it’s something I’ve always wanted to do again. For those of you who aren’t from Pittsburgh, the sightseeing tour encompasses our three rivers: the Monongahela, Allegheny, and Ohio, and we basically get to learn about the history of Pittsburgh. Y’all know I’m a big history buff, so this was totally up my alley!

Pittsburgh played key roles in the founding of our nation and, while we didn’t visit any of the sites, I highly recommend stopping by the Fort Pitt Block House if you’re in the area! When she wasn’t pointing out buildings and other landmarks, our tour guide talked about Lewis & Clark – their journey west began in Pittsburgh!

Now it’s been said that Pittsburgh is the City of Bridges, but I hadn’t realized just how many we have: 446, more than any other city in the world! Take that, Venice! It’s actually pretty funny – for a city so dependent on bridges, Pittsburghers tend to stick to ‘their side’ of the river. I live up the Ohio and, were it not for work, I would happily avoid crossing it (seriously, the tunnels and traffic are a nightmare.)

The whole trip lasted an hour and I could have easily stayed another five just soaking up the sights and breathing in the history. It was an absolute blast and the weather was sunny and gorgeous (my birthday tends to mean WINTER IS COMING and the very next day it was rainy and in the 60s ha!) and I can’t wait to go back again. Plus spending all day exploring the town with this cutie didn’t hurt either ♥!

One thought on “sailing the high seas.

Leave a Reply

