Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 8/23

Happy, happy Sunday! If it seems like it’s been a while since I’ve done a weekly wrap-up it’s because I skipped last week. Why? WE GOT A PUPPY! I’ll have a post properly introducing her soon, but that’s Baylor. ♥ Last week involved a lot of running around. Since then, she’s pretty much taken over my instagram account. Love.


FOR REVIEW
The Gates of Evangeline by Hester Young
After losing her child, Charlie begins having extremely vivid dreams of children seeking help. She’s certain she’s losing her mind until she finds herself in the middle of a missing child case. This one is getting some MAJOR buzz and I believe it’s supposed to be a trilogy..? I’m currently reading this one and although I’m only a few chapters in, I’m pretty intrigued! Also, a few days after I received the ARC a finished copy arrived at my door, so keep your eyes peeled for a giveaway! Thank you, Putnam!

Along the Infinite Sea by Beatriz Williams
Autumn, 1966. An affair with a politician that results in a baby. A restored vintage Mercedes. Pepper is sure that the sale of the car will bring in enough money to take care of her child, and she soon discovers the car’s new owner carries some secrets of her own..secrets involving a Nazi husband and a Jewish lover. You KNOW how I feel about WWII novels (♥♥♥) and Ms. Williams comes HIGHLY recommended from a friend, so I’m very, very excited for this one! Thank you, Putnam!

Cleopatra’s Shadows by Emily Holleman
The story of Cleopatra told through the eyes of her younger sister. OH MY YES! After recently listening to The Woman Who Would be King, a biography about Hatshepsut, I’ve become fascinated by the Egyptian kings and queens. Definitely looking forward to this one! Thank you, Little, Brown!

The Lake House by Kate Morton
Kate is one of the authors at the tippy-top of my Auto-Buy list. I love her to pieces and the moment this one showed up on netgalley I immediately requested it. The 1930s. An abandoned house. A missing boy. A seventy-year mystery. At this point Kate could write a phone book and I’d be ecstatic! Thank you, Atria!

In Case You Missed It
I wrote a few mini-reviews! An Aussie historical fiction, the previously mentioned Hatshepsut bio, and a WWII rescue.

A Jennifer McMahon novel was the very first book I ever reviewed here, way back in August of 2011! Four years later she’s become another Auto-Buy author and her latest, The Night Sister, is excellent. Deliciously creepy and kept me turning the pages well into the night (even though I KNEW I’d be even more spooked in the dark!)

Mrs. Sinclair’s Suitcase by Louise Walters was nearly abandoned. Told in two eras, naturally I devoured the WWII story, but the present day one…ugh. I didn’t care for the main character at all, but the grandmother’s story (a loveless marriage, a Polish soldier, a letter from her husband dated after he was said to have died in the war) was too intriguing and I devoured this one in record time.

One thought on “weekly wrap-up 8/23

Leave a Reply

