Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 8/9

Hello lovelies! I’m going to keep things short and sweet this week, so let’s jump right into the books!

FOR REVIEW
The Dressmaker by Rosalie Ham
Aussie historical fiction, you say? I am SO there! After twenty years a dressmaker returns to her hometown she had once been banished from. Although she had only intended on checking in on her sick mother, Tilly realizes the prim and proper women in town need her expertise and makes the decision to stay, all the while planning to seek revenge on those who wronged her all those years ago. I’m currently just a few chapters into this one but it’s great so far and has such a cast of characters! My (slightly crinkled!) copy features the movie tie-in cover and if the trailer is anything to go by (flawless Kate Winslet, shirtless Liam Hemsworth) it’s going to be excellent. Thank you, Penguin!

Avelynn by Marissa Campbell
A debut novel being compared to Diana Gabaldon? I’m listening. So this one is set in 869 just as the Saxons and Vikings are headed to war. As if the time period wasn’t interesting enough, things heat up once sparks fly between two members of the warring clans. I’m not too familiar with historical romance (or romance novels in general) but summer seems like a fun time to get lost in a love story. Thank you, St. Martin’s Griffin!

In Case You Missed It
Karen Katchur’s The Secrets of Lake Road was good, y’all. A lake community is rocked when a young girl goes missing…and when the rescue efforts begin their search, they uncover something far larger. Totally for fans of Diane Chamberlain and Lisa Scottoline!

My love for Middle Grade knows no bounds and my most recent MG read was the oh-so-charming Nooks & Crannies by Jessica Lawson, a novel I dubbed Willy Wonka for a new generation. So good!

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 8/9

  1. I had never heard of The Dressmaker (book or movie) before, but I just watched the trailer and now I’m dying to read/watch both!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s