weekly wrap-up 7/26

Happy Sunday! A bit of advice: don’t buy a house, kids. Matt and I recently purchased our first home (!! – though technically, we don’t close until Tuesday, so I guess we haven’t purchased it yet) and these past few months have been one giant headache. So much running around, calling this bank, scheduling that inspection, so. many. signatures. Seriously, bring your A game and probably do some workouts before because you’re going to be signing enough papers to last a lifetime. BUT we’re finally in the homestretch, just two more days!

So because of that, I’ve been pretty quiet in terms of blogging and twitter. Any ~drama~ going on? Any exciting book announcements I missed??

Back in March, the first ever #HistoricalFix chat was held and I did a recap of it here. In April, I made the announcement that Erin asked me to join the team and be an official co-host and on Tuesday we had our second chat! It was a blast and while I won’t be doing a recap like I did for the first, I compiled a list of the recommendations once again and the list is now up on GoodReads!


FROM THE LIBRARY
Alex + Ada volume 1 by Jonathan Luna and Sarah Vaughn
Last week I mentioned that, although I requested volumes 1 and 2 at the same time, volume 2 arrived first..ha. Well volume 1 finally arrived and I quickly powered through both. While I wasn’t as starry-eyed as it seems other readers are, I definitely see the appeal and had a great time reading! With graphic novels, I like reading entire series in one go, so the wait for the next volume (single issues aren’t going to cut it for me) will be a killer!

Stella by Starlight by Sharon M. Draper
Oh, Middle Grade ♥! This one tells the story of a girl living in the Depression-era segregated South and the night the Ku Klux Klan makes a startling reappearance. I know this will be a tough one to read, especially because the narrator is an 11-year-old girl, but I’ve been eager for hard-hitting stories and think this is just what I need.

FOR REVIEW
The Wild Girl by Kate Forsyth
“Dortchen Wild fell in love with Wilhelm Grimm the first time she saw him.” Aaaand sold. No, I lied. I was sold way before that sentence. I was sold halfway through last year’s Bitter Greens when I realized that, yes, I will forever be reading whatever this woman writes. The Wild Girl is yet another novel that sounds written just for me: war-torn Germany, Napoleon, the Brothers Grimm.. Kate knows how to make my heart beat a little faster! Thank you, Thomas Dunne Books!!

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
Okay, confession time: I have no idea what this book is about, only that it’s been getting some serious buzz and people are going crazy for it. I’m NOT a fan of dystopian novels, but I’m willing to give this one a shot and I’m especially intrigued by the format: the story is told through military files, IMs (!!!), e-mails, medical reports, etc. Thank you, Knopf Books for Young Readers!!

In Case You Missed It
Mini-Review Roundup! A foodie novel perfect for fans of You’ve Got Mail! A revisit of a childhood favorite (that definitely holds up!) I DNF’d a Maggie!!

I was a little hesitant when Amanda Panitch’s Damage Done arrived unsolicited, but I ended up reading it and it was a total blast. SUPER twisty and turny with a shocker I didn’t expect at all!

One thought on “weekly wrap-up 7/26

Leave a Reply

