Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 7/12

Happy Sunday! How was your week? Did you do anything fun, go anywhere exciting? Any leftover holiday celebrations?? I didn’t do squat this week, but that’s okay – my vacation ended and I went back to work and that’s about it.

Have you read the first chapter of Go Set a Watchman? A bunch of coworkers and I were discussing it and, combined with a review, we decided we’re really not that interested in reading it. Something even worse than my biggest fear was confirmed and I’m not willing to let go of my love for the greatest character in literature.

Last night I shared a photo from my library’s catalog – the wait has since gone up. 642 people are in line for the hardback, 114 for the large print version, 165 for audio, and 603 for the ebook. Really, people, if you’re 600 in line for something, you might as well just go out and buy the book. Unless those 599 people ahead of you are speed readers, you’re looking at at least a year before you get it (especially since we get a three-week lending period!)


FROM THE LIBRARY
The Ice Cream Queen of Orchard Street by Susan Jane Gilman
This was an impulse grab (or, rather, impulse click – ebooks you are too easy to borrow!) This seems like a semi-doorstop of a novel, sweeping across the 1910s from Russia to Manhattan where the main character falls in love and adopts a new identity. From there the two head across America in an ice cream truck and Lillian finds fame. The story then follows Lillian over the next seven decades, through Prohibition to the days of Studio 54 and, naturally, her past eventually catches up with her. You know I’m all about historical fiction, especially ones thick enough to sink your teeth into.

The Woman Who Would be King by Kara Cooney
I love listening to non-fiction on audio – I prefer it in fact. Having recently finished The Worst Hard Time (a history of the Dust Bowl) I wanted to discover a topic a little further from home. Enter Hatshepsut. I’m barely an hour in but it seems fascinating – and is more about women in power than anything. Definitely looking forward to jumping back into this one!

FOR REVIEW
Kitchens of the Great Midwest by J. Ryan Stradal
A woman becomes an iconic chef at the place to eat and each chapter tells the story of a different dish. Also: recipes. That’s really all I need to know to set my heart all aflutter! Thank you, Pamela Dorman Books!!

Have you read any of these? Are you a fan of non-fiction?? What books did you get this week?

In Case You Missed It
I’m THRILLED I gave Chevy Stevens a second chance. Those Girls was even better than I had expected (though, admittedly, my expectations were low in the beginning.) I could easily see this working as a made-for-tv movie and I thoroughly enjoyed the ride. Spoiler warning for this review.

Rachel Caine’s new series exploring the survival of the Library of Alexandria kicked off to an excellent start. Ink and Bone completely captivated me and did a great job of building this dystopian world (note, I am NOT a dystopian fan, so bravo, Ms. Caine!) Fun, fun, fun and definitely a series I’ll be continuing.

Peaches and Scream is the first in Susan Furlong’s Georgia Peach Mystery series and was really fun as well. Side note, it looks like I had an excellent week in books which is SUCH a relief after just having a really terrible one. A woman returns home to the family peach orchard to discover a body out in the fields. Things go from bad to worse when a family member is the prime suspect. My only problem here was with one of the recipes included – it turned out awful.

4 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 7/12

  1. I am not a big non-fiction reader, but I love history. I never thought of trying it as audio, thanks for the idea.
    I have Kitchen of the Great Midwest and The Ice Cream Queen TBR.

    1. I think it’s way easier for me to ‘read’ on audio than it is in print. Sometimes non-fic can get a little bogged down with dry facts, so reading it is a bit of a struggle for me. Listening though, is great.

  2. Non-fiction is pretty much the only thing I can listen to on audio. It’s rare that I can manage a novel. I’m listening to Aziz Ansari’s Modern Romance on Scribd and it’s awesome.

    That first chapter of GSAW… man, I’m not sure I want to read the book either. I may wait and read some spoilers and decide from there. I mean, I knew almost everything about TKAM before I read it and I still loved it, so.

    1. I used to listen to podcasts before making the switch to audio. After one or two tries, I realized fiction just doesn’t work for me, now it’s non-fic all the way and I’m loving it!

      I’ve been wanting to check out Modern Romance!! I heard the print version has charts and extra bits so I’m torn :(

      I read spoilers (mainly to see if my biggest fear was confirmed: whether or not Atticus was still living by the end of the book.) My mom wanted a copy, so I picked it up for her, so I know at least I’ll have access to one if I ever get to urge to read it, but right now, I don’t want my love of TKaM to be tarnished or diminished in any way.

Leave a Reply

