Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 7/5

Did you have a wonderful holiday?? (non-US friends, how was your weekend?) I’m probably 95% hot dog at this point. #noregrets

There was a cookout at my mom’s, a cookout at my dad’s, and a bunch of goats. That’s basically my weekend. Being trampled by goats.

WON
Black Glass by Karen Joy Fowler
Lately I’ve been all about short story collections and Ms. Fowler comes HIGHLY recommended by several friends, so yay for me! I own one of her more popular novels, We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves and it’s this one that friends have read and loved, so if all goes well with Black Glass I’ll be bumping it up a few spots on my To Read list! Thank you, Putnam!!

FOR REVIEW
Damage Done by Amanda Panitch
A YA thriller blurbed by Roxanne Gay and compared to Gillian Flynn. I’M INTRIGUED. All I’m getting from the summary is that a girl has to start over with a new identity, new city, the whole works…and someone from her past finds her. Okay, so there’s not a whole lot to go on, but this one seems to be getting some pretty high praise already and I’m really into YA thrillers at the moment, so I’m excited to see how this goes! Thank you, Random House for Young Readers!!

The Book of Lost and Found by Lucy Foley

Kate Darling’s enigmatic mother–a once-famous ballerina–has passed away, leaving Kate bereft. When her grandmother falls ill and bequeaths to Kate a small portrait of a woman who bears a striking resemblance to Kate’s mother, Kate uncovers a mystery that may upend everything she thought she knew.

Yes, yes, and yes. From there the novel jumps to the 1920s, through London and Paris, and I’m already starry-eyed! Thank you, Back Bay Books/Little, Brown!!

Have you read any of these? What do you think about short stories? Rec me some YA thrillers! What books did YOU get this week?

In Case You Missed It
Andi Teran’s Ana of California was good, but I felt it would have been fully capable of standing on its own, rather than piggybacking off Anne of Green Gables. This was a hard one to rate – as a retelling I wasn’t happy, but as its own separate story, I enjoyed it! This post featured a giveaway for Ana as well as a gorgeous hardback copy of Anne of Green Gables and now it’s time to announce the winner:

ERIN

June recap

I compiled a list of my top reads of 2015 (part one!) There’s a mix of just about everything here: non-fic, contemporary, horror, historical fiction, mystery. Looking back, I’m thrilled my favorites come from a variety of genres!

I devoured the first two books in Hannah Reed’s Scottish Highlands mystery series. What’s a dead body or two when you’re surrounded by Scottish men in kilts?

Leave a Reply

