Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 6/28

Where oh where has June gone?? For a good portion of it we’ve had horrible storms and flooding + a tornado touched down last night in a town that’s less than ten minutes from me. LOOKIN’ GOOD, SUMMER!

It wasn’t all bad though. Last week I mentioned it was my brother’s birthday and later that day we partied hard. And by partied hard I mean I hung out with cats.

I also reached my GoodReads goal! Every year I tell myself I’m going to relax and take it easy, that I’m not going to aim as high as I did the previous year…and then beat my challenge just a few months into it. I’m in awe of people who read several hundreds books a year HOW DO YOU DO IT?! Last year I read 105. My goal was 60, I’m currently at 63 (though I have less than an hour to go in the MARVELOUS audiobook I’m currently listening to, so I’ll soon be at 64.) I don’t see any reason why I wouldn’t break 100 again this year!

A few months ago Matt and I planned on getting away this weekend. Plans were eventually canceled because oh, you know, we’re buying a house (!!!!) and so we’ve spent these past few days at home. We were wild and crazy like all couples in their late-20s by baking oatmeal cookies and then last night had a bonfire/surprise graduation party for one of our best friends. Naturally we had fireworks (I’m terrible at photographing fireworks) and, just like every year, things ended when the cops showed up. Hahaha, every year our friend’s dad lights off a special homemade firework made out of an actual stick of dynamite. Good, good times.

FOR REVIEW
Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng
This is the story of a mixed-race family living in Ohio in the 70s and how the parents want the very best for their middle daughter, their favorite…and then her body is discovered in a lake. This book made waves last year and it recently came out in softcover – I hadn’t realized how tiny it is! Less than 300 pages. I’ve heard great things about this one and it’s been on my Priority shelf for a while, so YAY! Thank you, Penguin!!

The Distance by Helen Giltrow
I was a bit surprised when this one appeared at my door. I first read it last September and, despite it sounding like a total Leah read, I couldn’t make it past page 100. I’m clearly in the minority though – it’s received a ton of praise, so perhaps I’ll do a giveaway? Thank you, Doubleday!!

FROM THE LIBRARY
The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater
After finishing Trish Doller’s The Devil You Know I was in SERIOUS book hangover mode and reached out to twitter to ask for recs. Both Asheley and Erin Lindsay McCabe immediately mentioned The Scorpio Races and I’m not at all surprised! I absolutely loved The Raven Boys and I own her Wolves of Mercy Falls series, but never got around to reading this one. CHANGING THAT NOW!

Have you read any of these? What books did YOU get this weekend?

In Case You Missed It
If I had to describe Nancy Holder and Debbie Viguie’s The Rules in one sentence it would be a B-movie/slasher flick in book form complete with a budding rock band, teachers impregnating students, severed limbs, and a mountain lion. It’s SO over the top and ridiculous and took two authors to create. But you know what? I checked my judgment at the door and settled in for the ride.

The Truth and Other Lies was a book that immediately appealed the me: a best-selling author is known the world around when it’s actually his wife who had been writing the books. The actually story, however, was a complete letdown. When a woman gets in his way or he grows bored with her, Henry simply kills her. Nothing can touch him, there are no consequences to his actions. VERY disappointed with this one.

My introduction to Rebecca Makkai wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t as fantastic as I had hoped. Music for Wartime is a short story collection that featured a few really excellent stories with some duds thrown in. I didn’t love this one as a whole, but a few stories really stuck out for me and are definitely worth reading.

And then, in the midst of a really crappy week for books, Trish Doller descended from the heavens with The Devil You Know to show everyone how it’s done. I completely devoured this book in record time and it gave me a horrible book hangover. Trish Army, you’ve found yourself a new recruit! Backlist, here I come ♥

4 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 6/28

  1. I read your review of The Devil You Know a few days ago, it seems exciting and adventurous. I’ve been iffy on The Truth and Other Lies, thanks for the honest review.

  2. I had Everything I Never Told You in my hands two days ago and put it back. *sigh* I knew I should have picked it up. Can’t wait to see what you think of it. :)

Leave a Reply

