Uncategorized

The Devil You Know by Trish Doller

The Devil You Know by Trish Doller
Pub. Date: June 2, 2015
Source: Hardback via library
Summary: Eighteen-year-old Arcadia wants adventure. Living in a tiny Florida town with her dad and four-year-old brother, Cadie spends most of her time working, going to school, and taking care of her family. So when she meets two handsome cousins at a campfire party, she finally has a chance for fun. They invite her and friend to join them on a road trip, and it’s just the risk she’s been craving-the opportunity to escape. But what starts out as a fun, sexy journey quickly becomes dangerous when she discovers that one of them is not at all who he claims to be. One of them has deadly intentions.
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Thriller, Road Trip
Recommended for: Fans of Trish’s other novels, readers looking for a HIGHLY entertaining and quick read.

A few years (!!) ago, I received an ARC of Where the Stars Still Shine. Not really interested in YA, I handed it off to my sister who completely devoured it (and for someone who’s not much of a reader, that’s saying something and, looking back, should have caught my attention.) Fast forward to two years later. After hearing absolutely NOTHING but the best of things about Trish and her novels, I discovered her latest was available at my library. A road trip turned deadly? Um, yes please.

After her mom died, Arcadia was left to care for her family. With a father who spends more time drinking than parenting, Cadie is the one to step up and juggle raising her four-year-old brother, school, and work. It’s no wonder her relationship fell to pieces or that she no longer has a position on the soccer team. So when Cadie gets word of a party – a party where she might run into her ex and his new girlfriend – she doesn’t think twice about reaching into the back of her closet and pulling out a vintage dress she had been saving.

This new-and-improved Cadie doesn’t hesitate to shout out an invitation (literally!) to a cute boy she passes, not believing he’ll show up. New-and-improved Cadie is thrilled when Matt actually does show up – and thrilled even further when he openly flirts right back. When Cadie discovers Matt isn’t alone, that his equally hot cousin Noah is with him on a camping road trip, she is delighted, especially when Noah seems interested in her as well. Before the night is over, Cadie has fallen for Noah and readily agrees to join the cousins (along with one of Cadie’s old friends) on the rest of their trip.

This will be less of an actual review and more of unrestrained flailing over Trish. You know that heart-eye emoji? That was me the entire time I was reading The Devil You Know. This book tore me in two. On the one hand, I TORE through this book – I was honestly surprised by how fast I read it and how deeply invested I became. On the other, Adult Leah was a nervous wreck and wanted to swoop in and shake/save Cadie…particularly once people started getting hurt and especially after a body was discovered. So while I couldn’t quite shake the terror, I settled in and oh-so-enjoyed this ride.

All the while I was reading I was kind of beating myself up – WHY had I waited so long to finally read this author?! I follow Trish on twitter and have for a while, yet for some reason it was only last week that I picked up one of her books and I am in total book hangover mode. It actually reached the point where I began looking for more YA novels! Where did this Leah come from?!

I’m going to keep this short and sweet since SO many other readers have sung Trish’s praises and have done so far more eloquently than I could ever hope to. Just let it be known that, for someone who doesn’t really read YA, I am now utterly and completely in love and the moment I finished I immediately called my sister to demand my ARC of Where the Stars Still Shine be returned! After a few weeks of fairly lackluster and disappointing reads, Trish descended from above and showed everyone how it’s done. All it took was one book for Trish’s army to gain a new recruit and you better believe I’ll be devouring her other work very soon.

7 thoughts on “The Devil You Know by Trish Doller

Leave a Reply

