Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 6/21: Father’s Day + the one with all the books/YA overload!

HAPPY FATHER’S DAY! Are you doing anything special with your papa? We’ve been getting slammed with storms (for a week straight we’ve had flood warnings!) but we’re still determined to have a cookout, so! And in celebration of two of my favorite literary dads, check out this post from two years ago for some um very different pieces of advice.

If you follow me on Instagram, you’re probably sick of all the juice bar photos I post! My local place (which now has my heart) is Salud and they have a punch card where, after so many punches, you get free health shots. WELL, yesterday I received one! My first shot was straight-up wheat grass and HOO BOY I was not prepared. This time around I wanted to try a different kind and went with Solar Ray: lemon, ginger, cayenne, and turmeric. Do you make your own juices/smoothies??

ALSO, yesterday was my brother’s 21st birthday! ♥ Happy, happy birthday, Alex!



FROM THE LIBRARY
The Devil You Know by Trish Doller
I received an ARC of Where the Stars Still Shine ages ago and never read it (though my sister devoured it!) I impulsively grabbed this one from my library and OH MY I’M IN LOVE! This was a legit one-sitting read and I totally see why people love her so much! ♥ I have seen the light, Trish. Making immediate plans to steal back my copy of Stars from my sister. Whoops I just realized this one somehow managed to sneak its way back into the house so here’s a photo.

Off Kilter by Hannah Reed
This is the first in her Scottish Highlands mystery series. I received the sequel recently and wanted to start from the beginning. A young writer finds herself caught up in the middle of a murder investigation. Y’all know I love my cozies. Plus there are sheep.

FOR REVIEW
The Price of Valor by Django Wexler
Last month I hit it off with Wexler’s Shadow Campaigns series, so I’m thrilled to receive a copy of the upcoming third book! This is epic fantasy at its best. Thank you, ROC!!

Pretending to Dance by Diane Chamberlain
CUE MASSIVE FREAKOUT! When I first heard of this one a few months ago I immediately e-mailed the publicist about it. haha turns out Ms. Chamberlain wasn’t even finished writing it yet! Whoops. So imagine my surprise when it suddenly appeared at my door this week. Starry-eyed for days. This doesn’t come out until October, but I have a feeling it’s going to be read MUCH earlier. Thank you, St. Martin’s!!

The Secrets of Lake Road by Karen Katchur
The same publicist asked if I would be interested in this novel and I am always happy to work with local authors. Okay, so she’s on the other side of the state, but still, Pennsylvania represent! When a child goes missing, a sixteen-year secret is uncovered. I’ve been on a mystery/thriller kick lately and have a feeling this will fit in nicely – especially since it’s recommended for fans of Lisa Scottoline and Heather Gudenkauf. Thank you, St. Martin’s!!

Miss Emily by Nuala O’Connor
This slim novel reimagines the life of Emily Dickinson and I love biographical fiction and have featured it heavily on the blog with reviews like Mrs. Poe, West of Sunset, The Accidental Empress, I Always Loved You, and more. I actually am not all that familiar with Dickinson’s work which I think might heighten my enjoyment (I have never read Jane Austen and had a great time with First Impressions while readers who love her had a hard time getting through it.) Thank you, Penguin!!

Ana of California by Andi Teran
IT’S AN ANNE OF GREEN GABLES RETELLING. Do I really need to say more?! Thank you, Penguin!!

A Curious Tale of the In-Between by Lauren DeStefano
A creepy Middle Grade novel involving ghosts. FUN! I haven’t read Lauren’s YA novels but I’m all about Middle Grade. Thank you, Bloomsbury!!

Ink & Bone by Rachel Caine
I’m a little UGH when it comes to dystopia (we just don’t mix well) but this series is about the Library of Alexandria so I’m definitely willing to give it a shot. This one has lots of praise already and I’d love to see how the library’s survival plays out. Thank you, NAL!!

Tonight the Streets Are Ours by Leila Sales
I honestly have no idea what’s come over me lately – there’s an explosion of YA at my house and…I’m really enjoying it. Can I blame Trish? Trish, this is all your fault, you lovely, lovely lady. So here we are! So many bloggers have gone crazy over Leila’s previous novels and the cover of this one is pretty (yep, I’m one of those people!) Arden follows a New York-based blogger and when he mentions getting dumped by his girlfriend, she makes the decision to go on a road trip. Honestly, this one could go either way for me – I want to love it, but there’s also a part that is TERRIFIED by this idea. I’m keeping my fingers crossed. Thank you, Farrar, Straus and Giroux!!

First & Then by Emma Mills
Pride and Prejudice meets Friday Night Lights. aaaand sold. Thank you, Henry Holt and co.!!

These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly
Gilded Age New York. An accidental death. A young medical student who works at the morgue. Jo is determined to uncover the truth behind her father’s death and I am SO there! This sounds delicious creepy. Thank you, Delacorte!!

Have you read any of these? WHAT OTHER YA NOVELS DO I NEED TO KNOW ABOUT?! What books did YOU get this week?

In Case You Missed It
Do You Give Authors Second Chances? A quasi-discussion post where I muse over lackluster introductions to authors’ works.

8 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 6/21: Father’s Day + the one with all the books/YA overload!

    1. eep – honestly, I just go for it. Publishers have publicity contact info listed on their sites and that’s how I would request until I started getting contacts. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

