Uncategorized

May: Unreviewed Round-up

Recently I’ve noticed that, for one reason or another, I haven’t been reviewing every book I’ve read. There are lots of other bloggers who will do a round-up of their unreviewed books for the month and I’m thinking it might be fun!

Paper Hearts by Courtney Walsh
Pub. Date: December 18, 2014
Source: Softcover via library
Summary: Abigail Pressman would never have guessed that love notes penned on paper hearts by an anonymous couple could restore her belief in love. As a business owner in a quaint town at the base of the Rockies, she’s poured everything into dreams of expansion…and resisting the matchmaking efforts of the Valentine Volunteers, who gather in her store to continue Loves Park’s tradition of stamping mail with the city’s romantic postmark.

When Abigail is unwillingly drafted into the Volunteers, she encounters the paper hearts, a distraction that couldn’t come at a worse time. A hard-to-read doctor has become Abigail’s new landlord, and he’s threatening to end her lease to expand his practice. As she fights a growing attraction to this handsome man crushing her dreams, Abigail is inspired to string the hearts in her store, sparking a citywide infatuation with the artsy trend. But when a new batch of hearts reaches the Volunteers, it appears something tragic has happened to the couple. Will uncovering their story confirm Abigail’s doubts about love, or could it rescue her dreams…and her heart?
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, Christian Fiction

This was pure, no-holds-barred fluff and didn’t try to be anything more than that. When I picked this up, I had just finished reading some pretty hefty non-fic and desperately needed something light – and that’s exactly what I got.

Abigail is a bookseller in the Hallmark-esque town of Loves Park. Tourists travel from all over the globe to bask in the romantic atmosphere and the town receives so much mail there’s a special volunteer group created just for stamping envelopes. Abigail’s shop resides in one half of a duplex – and her landlord is planning on selling. Abigail’s entire world comes crashing down when the prospective buyer appears, eager to start work on building up his practice…which means kicking her out ASAP.

There’s absolutely nothing unexpected here, going in you know exactly what’s going to happen, but I truly didn’t mind one bit. The only issue I had was by how much of a focus was put on Abigail’s “need” for a husband – when Abigail herself wasn’t even a fan of the idea! Instead, it’s the rest of the town who comes together to play matchmaker and while this could work in a sweet, rom-com kind of way, its execution here bothered me. More than once Abigail is referred to as a spinster, told horrible things to make her feel terrible about not having a husband…and she’s my age! That makes me feel real swell about myself, book!

Apart from that annoyance however, I had a great time with Paper Hearts. Some parts were overly cute but when you’re in the mood for brain candy, this is the perfect book.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
Pub. Date: September 15, 2011
Source: Hardback won in a giveaway via Candlewick Press (Thanks!)
Summary: The monster showed up after midnight. As they do.

But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming…

This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor.

It wants the truth.
Genre: Young Adult, SOUL-CRUSHING

:( :( :( ALL THE SAD FACE EMOJIS. Why oh why didn’t anyone warn me?? I went into this one completely blind – I was in the mood for a quick read (and this one had pictures too!) – and was not prepared for this at all. I expected a fun, creepy monster story and instead spent the better part of my night sobbing my eyes out.

Oh, Patrick Ness, you wonderful, horrible man. A Monster Calls ripped out my heart and stomped all over it. Multiple times. And I’d allow it to break my heart all over again. I must be the world’s biggest masochist because in that giveaway a copy of The Knife of Never Letting Go was also included and I’m itching to make the time to read it.

A Small Indiscretion by Jan Ellison
Pub. Date: January 20, 2015
Source: Audiobook via library
Summary: At nineteen, Annie Black abandons California for a London winter of drinking to oblivion and looking for love in the wrong places. Twenty years later, she is a happily married mother of three living in San Francisco. Then one morning, a photograph arrives in her mailbox, and an old obsession is awakened.

After a return trip to London, Annie’s marriage falters, her store floods, and her son, Robbie, takes a night-time ride that nearly costs him his life. Now Annie must fight to save her family by untangling the mysteries of that reckless winter in Europe that drew an invisible map of her future.
Genre: Contemporary, Mystery, Thriller

This one was a DNF for me. For the past few months I’ve been on a Contemporary Thriller kick and had been eager to get my hands on a copy of A Small Indiscretion. My desire for the book reached the point where I nearly bought the audiobook using an Audible credit and, looking back, I’m SO glad I didn’t.

I abandoned this one after 9 chapters. Beginnings are rarely captivating – there’s gotta be some build up to the suspense – but after a while, I knew there just wasn’t anything for me here. I hadn’t realized the entire book is one long letter to the main character’s dead (??) son. He was in a car accident and I honestly don’t remember if he was in the hospital or if he passed away. When Annie begins to go into detail about starting an affair with her much-older boss (one of her small indiscretions) I realized I wasn’t feeling this one.

What ultimately sealed the deal was that I received an e-mail from the library saying that, after a long wait, it was finally my turn to check out Sabriel…and Tim Curry is the narrator. PEACE OUT, A SMALL INDISCRETION!

5 thoughts on “May: Unreviewed Round-up

  1. For “unreviewed” these are pretty thorough! I should do something like this with just a blurb and thumbs up or down. I have about 8 books a month that don’t get reviewed, usually because they’re not ARCs andI don’t want to be one of those blogs that is all reviews and nothing else.

Leave a Reply

