Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 5/23

MEMORIAL DAY WEEKEND~ Which of you lucky ducks have a three-day weekend?? Are you planning any cookouts? Any picnics? Tell me about your plans! No plans for me, so let me live through you!

After last week’s awesomeness (that little guy was dressed as a chia pet HA!) this week has been nice and quiet…although EVIL EYE TO ALL OF YOU for not telling me A Monster Calls was not a fun, creepy read. BUCKETS, people, buckets of tears were shed. Silly me for thinking it would be a perfect, quick read. :( :( :(

ON THE PLUS SIDE, Matt surprised me by ordering us fitbits and I’ve been tracking it like crazy – I had to stop halfway through typing this post because they finally arrived and I flew to the door. ♥ Love it already! Do you have one??


FOR REVIEW
The Rocks by Peter Nichols
Okay, first thing’s first: is that cover gorgeous or what?! A 60-year secret, The Mediterranean Sea, a Romeo & Juliet-esque romance. HEART EYES EMOJI. I cannot wait to dive into this one! Oddly enough, this is my second Mediterranean-set novel this week – a few days ago I finished the lovely The Enchanted April and will be telling you all about it next week! (There will also be a giveaway, so keep your eyes peeled!) Thank you, Riverhead!!

Serafina and the Black Cloak by Robert Beatty
Confession time – I keep wanting to type Seraphina. Whoops! ANYWHO, this one is described as “a spooky mystery-thriller about an unusual girl who lives secretly in the basement of the grand Biltmore Estate.” SAY NO MORE! This one just might be going on vacation with me next month! Thank you, Disney-Hyperion!!

FROM THE LIBRARY
A Small Indiscretion by Jan Ellison
I’m only a chapter or two into this one so far so I can’t pass judgement just yet, but eh. I’m not really too intrigued just yet – but things are starting to pick up a bit! When she was nineteen, Annie fled California for London, planning on drinking her way through the winter and finding love. Twenty years later she’s back in San Francisco, happily married and content. Then a package arrives at her door and changes everything.

Sabriel by Garth Nix
This one was a HUGE surprise and I’m still flailing! I put in a request for this one recently and wasn’t planning on getting it so soon – thank you, random reader, for returning it early! This book came out nearly twenty years ago and despite being the PERFECT age back then to fall hard for it, I somehow never read it. Definitely looking forward to fixing that!

In Case You Missed It
CRAZY INSANE DEBORAH HARKNESS GIVEAWAY is exactly what it sounds like! To celebrate the paperback release of The Book of Life there’s a massive 4-prize giveaway, including buttons and mirrors, books, and even a one-of-a-kind signed copy of Diana’s commonplace book! I’ll be announcing the winners tomorrow, so if you still haven’t gotten in on this, head over now!

The Deepest Secret by Carla Buckley was a huge letdown. Within the first few chapters you find out the deepest secret and the rest of the 400-odd pages is a big ol’ drag. The ending left me frustrated and I rolled my eyes more than once while reading. Add in more storylines than the author could handle and you’ve got yourself a pretty disappointing read.

3 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 5/23

  1. I missed the Sabriel/Garth Nix boat, too. I’ve been meaning to check them out now but, ok, horrible confession time, the covers aren’t attractive enough to push the books up my TBR. So, I’ll be keeping an eye out for your review :)

Leave a Reply

