weekly wrap-up 5/3

Happy Sunday!! My weekend was a blast – my sister, nieces, and I took a mini-roadtrip (is traveling through two states still considered mini??) to Maryland for my cousin’s wedding. …and drove back the same day. I might have been a little crazy when I agreed to that, but we had an amazing time and made it home in one piece. I had posted some photos on instagram yesterday and, honestly, the view really was gorgeous. The wedding was at the top of a mountain and overlooked rolling green hills as far as you could see. SO beautiful! Congratulations Hannah and welcome to the family, Lindsay! ♥


FOR REVIEW
Slated for Death by Elizabeth J. Duncan
I know I shouldn’t let it intimidate me that this is the sixth in the series (especially when I jumped into Aunt Dimity at book 20!) but still, eek! This series takes place in Wales (fun!) and the main character is an ex-pat from Canada. It looks like this novel centers around a death in a mining accident – and naturally there are dark family secrets. I’m currently reading another cozy mystery Minotaur recently sent and I’m enjoying it immensely, so I’m looking forward to this one! Thank you, Minotaur!!

A Flying Affair by Carla Stewart
I typically don’t discuss the e-ARCs I’ve grabbed but I’m so excited about these two I couldn’t help myself! 1920s. A female pilot. Need I say more?? There’s a handsome British pilot, a horse farm in Kentucky, and Southern belles galore. BE STILL, MY HEART! Thank you, FaithWords!!

Pretty Baby by Mary Kubica
WHAAAT!! This is Kubica’s follow-up to 2014’s The Good Girl and I honestly was NOT expecting to be approved. Heidi takes in stray cats and works for a non-profit. Her family is well aware of her giving nature, but nothing prepared them for the day she arrived home with a teenage girl and 4-month-old baby. As Heidi helps Willow back on her feet, details about Willow’s past come out and Heidi’s act of kindness “quickly spirals into a story far more twisted than anyone could have anticipated.” AAAHHHH YESSS! Thank you, Mira!

Have you read any of these? What did you think?? What did YOU get this week?

In Case You Missed It
when blogging goes from ooh la la to ugh.
This started out as a ramble of thoughts that I wanted to get out, but quickly escalated. I don’t want to feel confined to one niche when there are so many other aspects of my life I want to share and discuss. This post essentially lays out a plan for introducing other areas of my life to the blog and I can’t wait!

The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd
I put this one off for months and months and I’m kicking myself for it now. SUCH a great book and it introduced me to a woman from history I had never heard of. Sarah Grimke kickstarted the women’s rights movement and history has all but forgotten about her. This review also feautured a giveaway and it’s now time to announce the winner!

VICTORIA!
Congratulations, Victoria! An e-mail has been sent and Victoria has 48 hours to reply before another winner is chosen.

The Mapmaker’s Children by Sarah McCoy
Underground Railroad fiction. Yes and double yes. I fell hard for this novel and I hope you’ve all pre-ordered it! It comes out in a few days and I can’t wait to flail over it with others. …and maybe try out the recipe that was included!

April recap
There was no middle ground in April. My reads were either SUPER AWESOME OMG READ THIS NOW or total duds.

2 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 5/3

Leave a Reply

