Uncategorized

looking back on April.


The above photo was taken at a local coffee shop Matt & I fell hard for last month! Grabbed from my instagram account.

REVIEWS
Please Don’t Tell by Elizabeth Adler
This one was a mess and a half. While it started out great, the second half of the book careened off a cliff into crazytown. This review is essentially a big rantfest for me.

Deception on Sable Hill by Shelley Gray
A murder mystery set during the Chicago World’s Fair. It was just as awesome as it sounds and now I want to go back and read the first book in this series!

Scent of Triumph by Jan Moran
A novel that should have been tailor-made for me: WWII-setting, forbidden love, it ended up being more about the flippant main character and her pitiful problems than anything else. She flees war-torn Europe for America, never giving a second thought to the child she left behind. She goes through husbands like water and somehow everyone she meets adores her. The stars ALWAYS align just right for her and whatever she touches turns to gold. There were a lot of problems with this one and I don’t think my eyes have ever rolled so hard.

Aunt Dimity & the Summer King by Nancy Atherton
It looks like April was the month of Leah Starts Series In The Middle. This addition to the Aunt Dimity series is book 20. And I loved every minute. If you like your mysteries with a teensy touch of the paranormal, do yourself a favor and check out this series. I know I’ll definitely be going back and reading the previous nineteen!

The Winter Family by Clifford Jackman
Imagine Quentin Tarantino in book form. Meet The Winter Family, a kickass western with a body count a mile long. Stretching decades, this novel follows the infamous band of outlaws from their start to their ultimate demise and I was right there along for the ride.

The Thunder of Giants by Joel Fishbane
Part historical fiction, part fact, this one tells the tale of real-life giant Anna Swan and, a few decades later, another giant Andorra Kelsey. A solid read and one that made me curious enough to dig deeper into the life of Anna Swan.

2 audiobook mini-reviews
My love of audiobooks has grown to ridiculous proportions lately and I discussed two I loved: a classic Agatha Christie in Death on the Nile – and my introduction to detective extraordinaire Hercule Poirot – and Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies. Both were EXCELLENT and I’m VERY eager to dive into the rest of both author’s works!

The Invention of Wings + giveaway by Sue Monk Kidd
Winner will be announced tomorrow, so there’s still time to enter to win! 1800s. A pioneer of women’s rights who I had never heard of. The Invention of Wings was fantastic, focusing on Sarah Grimke and a slave Handful from childhood through the rest of their lives. I’m kicking myself for waiting so long to read this one and I’m not at all shocked it’s been on so many bestseller’s and book club lists!

The Mapmaker’s Children by Sarah McCoy
SO I KIND OF LIKE 1800’s FICTION. Underground Railroad, y’all. I loved it and nothing more needs to be said (except for the fact that there is a recipe included!)

FEATURES
weekly wrap-up 4/5
weekly wrap-up 4/12
weekly wrap-up 4/19
weekly wrap-up 4-26

MISC.
March Recap

#HistoricalFix chat’s big list o’ recs!
This chat was an absolute blast and I compiled the recommendations (not just books!) into one handy GoodReads list! ALSO there’s a big announcement made that still has me starry-eyed!

Recently Added.
Essentially a way for me to ramble about some books I recently bought/added to my To Be Read stacks and why I added them. I go through waves with my reading and it shows here: I’m currently all about Thrillers & Non-fic!

when blogging goes from ooh la la to ugh.
In this post I discussed other interests I have and how I’ve been forcing myself to only show the bookish side of me on the blog. In the coming months I’d like to introduce you to the other aspects of my life: a beekeeping class I’m taking, smoothie recipes and granola bars I’ve been making.

2 thoughts on “looking back on April.

Leave a Reply

