Uncategorized

when blogging goes from ooh la la to ugh.

What do you do when you’re in a blogging slump? It’s the strangest thing – I’ve been reading like crazy (actually, my reading has been off the charts lately!) and right beside me at my desk I have a notebook full of ideas for posts, but when it comes time for me to sit down and actually put those ideas to paper (or screen, I guess?) I find myself making excuses or distracting myself with other sites.

Thank you, Past Leah for scheduling what reviews I’ve had lately! Even this post was written a while ago. So what’s with this weird blogging slump? Like I said above, it’s not a case of bad books. In fact, I’ve been reading INCREDIBLE novels lately and have even gotten back into non-fiction and have been discovering fantastic stories. THAT SAID, there are some books I’ve read months ago that have yet to be reviewed. If someone asked about them I could ramble on (and have!) about these stories…so what’s stopping me from getting my act together and writing an actual review?

I think it all boils down to a change in attitude and expanding my interests. I’m sure I’ve shared this before, but prior to book blogging, I reviewed music and television shows for years, first on my own site and then later for an online magazine. Four years ago I decided to focus solely on books and while it’s been great, I feel there’s a part of me I’m intentionally holding back.

Since last summer I’ve thrown around an idea of becoming more of a ‘lifestyle’ blog and have discussed it with one of my very best friends – it would definitely be a co-run deal! There are so many other interests I have that I’d love to share. Did you know I’m currently taking a beekeeping class?? It’s AMAZING and I’m so in love! xoxo to Matt for surprising me with the registration! Did you know I’m obsessed with smoothies and juices and that I’ve been making my own granola bars? I’d love to share these recipes and flail over my favorite local juice bar with you guys!

For the longest time I swore up and down that this would be a books only blog, that I would only review books, discuss upcoming novels I’m looking forward to, basically anything related to the literary world and nothing else. How silly to think about that now. Why on earth would I force myself to pigeon-hole my little area of cyberspace? I’ve always been an advocate for doing what YOU want to do with your blog, yet I never followed what I had been preaching. Instead I’ve boxed myself in to the point where blogging has become a chore and something I’m not looking forward to at all.

Look out, world. It’s time you met a whole new Leah. There’s more to me than just books and I’m excited to let you in on the other areas of my life! (though obvs there will still be books!)

9 thoughts on “when blogging goes from ooh la la to ugh.

  1. I was feeling this same way for a while, but once I let go of the idea that I *had* to blog about books and only books, I felt so much more free! I still have a lot of bookish content right now because the change is a little big scary, but I’ve also been talking about baking and movies and television and I can’t wait to expand further.

    I say blog what you want to blog and everything else will fall into place. I, for one, would LOVE to see that granola bar recipe! And even though I’m deathly allergic to bees and they absolutely terrify me (justified I think!) I’d still be really interested in reading about your beekeeping class. :D

  2. I want to hear about bees! I love them.
    I’be changed focus on what I write about several times over the years depending on what I’m most interested in. Do what you want.

  3. I’m really looking forward to learning a bit more about you when you go more “lifestyle” blogging than just book blogging. I have been in the same blogger slump…I have so many ideas and post that I need to write but I just haven’t been motivated for some reason. I blame my migraines but I’m not sure if that’s all of it or not. Hopefully I figure it out soon

  4. Hey! That happens to me, too. Not the slump, I mean the comments. When a new post goes up on my blog, for some reason it leaves weird comments on the previous post. Do you know why or how we can stop it? I have a self-hosted WP site.

  5. I say blog about whatever strikes your fancy, darlin! I think we all kind of get in this place where we feel like we can only talk about books and do book reviews – but it’s rare lately that I feel like sitting down and trying to put a review together. And honestly, I read less than half of the reviews in my feed. There’s just too many, and sometimes the non-book or book-ISH ones are more interesting. OF COURSE I want to read about how your beekeeping class is going!!

  6. I’m clearly behind on reading but I love this idea. I am in the same boat. Reading great things but not stopping to review them, but I could talk about them for hours. I also stopped Disney blogging after my birthday and I’m not sure what to make of that either. There are so many things I love, and I don’t know if categorizing them is always the best for my brain or my sanity. I have felt a little unhappy with how I’ve been creative, and I’m trying to fix it but it’s hard when I’m so tired after work and trying to do other things like be social, jump into other interests, and things like that. I love the book blog… I always will… but I’m not sure if I want to go at it from the same angle as I have for the past four years. I’m looking forward to how you run with this idea! I would love to learn more about you (and still get book recs haha).

Leave a Reply

