Recently Added.

I know I’m not alone with my ridiculous TBR list. Last year I spent a weekend culling my GoodReads shelves and regularly weed out books on my physical shelves. That said, I have absolutely no discipline whatsoever when it comes to a shiny cover or an interesting blurb. Straight to the To Read shelf it goes…

…which brings us to today’s post! I thought it would be fun to share a few books I’ve recently added and talk a little about why I thought they were too good to pass up.

In Malice, Quite Close by Brandi Lynn Ryder features one of my all-time loves: art in novels! The heir to a world-renowned collection of art has become obsessed with a fifteen-year-old girl from a working class family. Seeing himself as her means of ‘escape’ he kidnaps her and fakes her death. Years later, the girl has grown up and is living under another name and the two are living the high life. All that comes crumbling down when nude paintings of the girl are discovered and as word of these paintings catch on, a woman decides to investigate the uncanny resemblance to her long-lost sister. This sounds creepy and disturbing and is SUCH a Leah book! My love of thrillers is currently back in full force and this one sounds excellent.

The Midwife’s Revolt by Jodi Daynard is another one of my all-time loves: historical fiction! 1775, war has left complete towns destroyed. Abigail Adams! There are political plots, romance (I’m keeping my fingers crossed for it to be of the forbidden variety – a Redcoat perhaps??), and conspiracies. I typically shy away from self-published novels, but this one sounds fantastic.

The Day We Met by Rowan Coleman is blurbed as being for fans of Jojo Moyes (and you know I love me some Jojo!) It also sounds incredibly sad – a woman with Alzheimer’s (I’m assuming – it’s not directly stated in the blurb, but talks about her deteriorating memory and constant confusion) begins working on a Memory Book – a scrapbook full of mementos, photos, and memories – for her husband and daughters to remember her by. With each day her family grows fuzzier and she desperately seeks to retain her identity. I KNOW this is going to be a book that utterly breaks me heart and soul, but I’m going to take that chance.

The Mysterious Affair at Styles by Agatha Christie is the first Hercule Poirot novel. I recently listened to my first Hercule novel, Death on the Nile and had such a great time that I’m more than ready to start from the very beginning! I’m looking forward to discovering Hercule’s backstory and solving crimes while I’m at it.

The Lost Hours by Karen White was blurbed by my girl Diane Chamberlain, so it already has major points going for it. I recently read White’s upcoming The Sound of Glass (look out for my review in the next few weeks!) and the moment I finished I immediately set about adding the rest of her books to my list. Southern drama with a hint is mystery is wonderful and I’m looking forward to discovering what the rest of her novels hold.

A Place We Knew Well by Susan McCarthy doesn’t come out until September but I couldn’t resist mentioning it. First of all, isn’t that cover gorgeous? I’ve been swooning since I first saw it. This novel is set in the 1960s when panic over the Cold War latched onto the country. I really don’t think I’ve ever read a novel dealing with the Cuban Missile Crisis and I can’t get enough of family dramas.

King Leopold’s Ghost by Adam Hochschild is one I’ve come across numerous times over the years, but I never gave it much thought until reading Off the Shelf’s list of spellbinding tales for fans of Erik Larson. Years ago I read Devil in the White City (and even featured it in my first History 101 post!) I recently fell hard for his latest novel, Dead Wake and now I’m craving not only the rest of his books but non-fiction in general. At the moment I’m listening to Astoria, an account of John Jacob Astor, Thomas Jefferson, and their attempt to create an empire on the Pacific. King Leopold’s Ghost, however, is set a little further from home: Africa. The blurb states: “King Leopold’s Ghost is the haunting account of a megalomaniac of monstrous proportions, a man as cunning, charming, and cruel as any of the great Shakespearean villains” and I’m sold.

Isaac’s Storm by Erik Larson basically echoes everything I mentioned above. He has a way of pulling you into the story and making you completely forget it’s non-fiction. The deadliest hurricane in history killed over 6,000 people and took place on my birthday – 80-ish years earlier, thank you very much. Really, it’s only a matter of time before I get to this one and I’m debating whether or not to read it in print or listen to the audiobook. I had such excellent experiences with both I can’t decide!

The War Lovers by Evan Thomas features my main squeeze Teddy Roosevelt. AND it comes highly recommended by a friend. That’s pretty much all I needed to convince me to grab this one! But there’s so much more within its pages: the USS Maine explodes. Western expansion is shut down. William Randolph Hearst set about creating a frenzy. From Congressional halls to Cuba to the Philippines, The War Lovers all but guarantees I’m in for a good time.

Have you read any of these?? What books have you recently added to your TBR lists?
4 thoughts on “Recently Added.

  1. Julie @ Artwork by JM says:

    I also have an insanely large “to read” list on Goodreads. There are just so many good ones out there! The Day We Met sounds really good but I’m still recovering from the heartbreak of Me Before You. LOL That was rough! I loved the book but man, I cried like crazy

  2. Small Review says:

    Definitely looking forward to your Karen White reviews. I absolutely adore her Tradd Street series. So much so that I read it a few months back and I’m now re-reading it on audio now. I can’t gush about them enough. I’m kind of afraid to read her other books because I don’t want to love them less.

Leave a Reply

