Uncategorized

2 hump day mini-reviews: a classic Christie + my first Liane Moriarty

I’ve recently gotten back in audiobooks – more on that later! – and have been flying through them. Today I wanted to share two mini-reviews for two awesome audiobooks I listened to: one is a classic crime novel from THE classic crime author and another is a book everyone and their brother read last year that I’m only just getting to.

Death on the Nile by Agatha Christie
Linnet Doyle is young, beautiful, and rich. She’s the girl who has everything—including the man her best friend loves. Linnet and her new husband take a cruise on the Nile, where they meet the brilliant detective Hercule Poirot. It should be an idyllic trip, yet Poirot has a vague, uneasy feeling that something is dangerously amiss…

This was an audible Daily Deal a few weeks ago and for $1.95, how could I possibly refuse? Before I dive into this, I have a confession to make: before Death on the Nile, I had never read anything by Christie before. Despite my love of mysteries – especially cozies – I somehow completely avoided the grandmother of it all. To be honest, a few years ago I gave Hallowe’en Party a shot (during October, obvs) but never finished, so I’m considering Death on the Nile to be my intro to Ms. Christie.

It’s also my introduction to the infamous Hercule Poirot, detective extraordinaire and I have to say, I kind of liked him! Other readers have said he’s too pompous, too full of himself to be likable and, yes, I definitely got the superiority complex vibe, but that’s what makes him so fun! He’s smarmy and arrogant and knows better than you or I do – and he’s not afraid to let either of us know. So get on with your bad self, Hercule, I think you’re swell.

I think I lucked out with my first try: this audio version of Death on the Nile was a full cast drama. There was no narration, so in the beginning I was a little confused and it took a moment or two to really get into the swing of things, but once I did, it was smooth sailing. ALSO, when I began this one, I had been out on a walk. Haha, there were parts where I was convinced there were birds hovering inches above my head before realizing it was just the audio. Yay for awesome sound effects!

The actors were all fantastic and I didn’t see the ending coming (though I certainly tried my best to guess Who Did It!) At just 2 hours, Death on the Nile was an excellent start to what I’m positive will be a long and lovely relationship. ♥ Look out, Agatha, I’m coming for the rest of your work!

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty
Big Little Lies is a brilliant take on ex-husbands and second wives, mothers and daughters, schoolyard scandal, and the dangerous little lies we tell ourselves just to survive.

Oh, this beautiful, beautiful book. I own physical copies of The Husband’s Secret and What Alice Forgot, but it was Big Little Lies that I decided to start with. ..and what an introduction it was! I was debating whether or not to write a full review for this one (because I certainly can – there’s SO much to talk about here!) but if I told too much it would completely give away all the best bits.

There’s an impressive cast of characters: the children at the school, the parents, and extended families, and the local townsfolk. Initially I was worried I would easily lose track of who’s who, but silly me – Liane Moriarty is a master at what she does. If she puts 40 characters into a story, it’s because they need to be there and you can bet she’ll juggle them with ease. I had no trouble whatsoever keeping everyone apart – aided a bit by Caroline Lee’s AMAZINGLY GORGEOUS narration. Oh my. That woman could read me a phone book and I’d hang onto every word. Not only does she have the loveliest accent ever, but the subtle changes for each character are so perfect that it’s all I can do to keep this review about the book and not have it turn into the Caroline Lee Fangirl Hour.

If you’re one of the few people who has yet to read this one, don’t be put off by the blurb you’ll come across. Yes, it’s about domestic abuse. Yes, it’s about a young single mother and her bullied son. Yes, it’s about a woman dealing with her ex-husband’s new wife. But it’s also SO MUCH MORE than this. Please, please don’t write this one off as fluff. It’s amazing and incredible and I truly can’t say enough about it. READ THIS ONE. Those other novels that I own? You can bet they won’t be sitting unread for much longer! I absolutely adore Jaclyn Moriarty’s The Colors of Madeleine series, so I’m not at all surprised to discover her sister’s novels are just as lovely.

12 thoughts on “2 hump day mini-reviews: a classic Christie + my first Liane Moriarty

  1. I didn’t know she has a sister! Now i have to go read those! I’ve read all 3 books you mentioned and Big, Little Lies is my favorite. Husband’s Secret is really good also, but you have to realize going in that the secret isn’t infidelity, Liane Moriarty just isn’t that mundane, so it’s pretty exciting trying to figure out the secret and which husband has it.

  2. Jessica @ Quirky Bookworm (quirkybookworm.com) also recommended Big Little Lies with so much vigor that I added it to my TBR. It sounds great even though on the surface I probably wouldn’t be attracted to it.

Leave a Reply

