Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 4/19

Happy Sunday, y’all!

FOR REVIEW
Deadly Desires at Honeychurch Hall by Hannah Dennison
This is the second in the Honeychurch Hall series and I still keep calling it Honeyhall Church. WHY, BRAIN. I received a copy of the first book last year, but hadn’t set aside time for it and it kind of fell to the side. An isolated country estate in London is the PERFECT locale for mysteries and you know how I love my cozies! Now that I have two I’m thinking I really should get to them. Maybe read them back-to-back for a double feature? Thank you, Minotaur!

FROM THE LIBRARY
Paper Hearts by Courtney Walsh
Lately I’ve been getting into Christian fiction. The Beekeeper’s Son was a predictable, but sweet romance and Deception on Sable Hill was an incredibly engrossing historical murder mystery. I first came across Paper Hearts sometime last year when going through Tyndale’s catalog and made a note to check it out someday. Well that day is now. I’m not sure why, but last week I couldn’t get it off my mind and was thrilled when I saw my library had a copy. I’m looking forward to this one!

In Case You Missed It
Clifford Jackman’s The Winter Family was an insanely fun and gritty historical western, following the nefarious Winter family (not blood related; they’re a band of outlaws who have been traveling together) from their beginnings during the Civil War through the 1880s. A body count a mile long and all the blood and guts you could ever want in a book. So. Much. Fun!

While I was pleasantly surprised by The Winter Family, Joel Fishbane’s The Thunder of Giants also surprised me – and, sadly, not in a good way. This slim novel follows the life of Anna Swan, a real life giant who traveled with PT Barnum and, a few decades later, a fictional character. This one had so many wonderful things going for it, but it fell flat for me. Sure, I enjoyed it enough to finish, but now that it’s over, I really don’t have much to say about it and can’t see myself ever re-reading.

One thought on “weekly wrap-up 4/19

Leave a Reply

