Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 4/5 + a BIG announcement!

Happy Easter! The birds have been singing since 6am and it’s shaping up to be a beautiful day. ♥

FROM THE LIBRARY
Sea of Shadows by Kelley Armstrong
I had originally grabbed this one as an e-ARC from EW last year, but never got around to it, eventually falling hard for her Cainsville series, and kicking myself for letting Sea of Shadows expire. Back in February, I received a copy of Empire of Night, the second book in the Age of Legends series and here we are.

In Case You Missed It
At the Water’s Edge by Sara Gruen
WWII + a hunt for the Loch Ness monster. This was a Leah book if I ever saw one…unfortunately, it turned out to be a major dud. For a book whose backbone is the Loch Ness legend Nessie was surprisingly absent. Instead, this was a novel full of odd character personality changes and was more devoted to the main character’s love life than anything else. I was a big fan of Water for Elephants back in the day, but I think my dip into Gruen’s work stops here.

I looked back on last month in my March recap

Do you love Historical Fiction? Did you join in on the #HistoricalFix chat but couldn’t keep up with the recs? DON’T WORRY! My Big List o’ Recs is here to help! There’s even a handy list on GoodReads and I included several of the television shows mentioned as well! BIG ANNOUNCEMENT NEWS: I’m still flailing – Erin got in touch with me yesterday and asked if I would like to join the crew as an official co-host! AAAHHH! The next chat is coming up this summer and you can bet I’ll have more info for you before then!

Please Don’t Tell by Elizabeth Adler
In the beginning I thought I stumbled upon something amazing, a hidden gem to be treasured. Unfortunately, by the halfway mark, what would have been close to 5 stars dropped down to the ultimate low. Did Adler hire another writer to come in and finish the job? I honestly don’t understand. NO editing whatsoever – I provided some examples of the lack of attention – and actually using OMG in the narration were just too much for me to deal with and I’m honestly so disappointed. Please Don’t Tell had the potential to be incredible.

2 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 4/5 + a BIG announcement!

Leave a Reply

