Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 3/29

Happy Sunday! How was your week? Are you living somewhere like me where it was gorgeous and warm last week…and now you’re back to snow? Excuse me, Mother Nature.

This morning has been a lovely, sleepy Sunday morning, with light slowly coming through my windows, delicious tea in my fox mug, and Houndmouth’s latest album on Spotify. I’m super pumped for this afternoon: my cousin’s daughter is having her first birthday party and not only am I thrilled at seeing my family, but it’ll also be like a mini high school reunion ♥ Although our ~group~ still keeps in touch through facebook and texts, a few of us have moved away so this will be the first time in a few years that we’ve all been together again! SO excited!

Okay, now on to the books:
I’m still listening to Big Little Lies and my only gripe with audible is that it doesn’t give me a percentage or a page number to show me how far into the book I am. I don’t put much stock in number of chapters – authors like Dan Brown and James Patterson are no strangers to 100+ chapters in their books, most of them being just a page or two. Big Little Lies has 84 and I’m currently on 31, so I can’t even guess how far into it I am. THAT SAID, this one is SO lovely – made even better by the narrator’s beautiful accent – and I’m kind of kicking myself for waiting so long to get to it!

One of the perks of being a bookseller is that I get to borrow anything I want. Earlier in the week Elizabeth Adler’s Please Don’t Tell caught my eye (I’m still on my thriller kick) and I’ve been working my way through it. To give you an idea of how much I’m enjoying this one, I’ll put it this way: Matt has spent the past four years watching me curl up and read. The other night he pointed out that I seem different with this one and that I must be enjoying it. It’s not going to get five stars, but it definitely is a fun and fast-paced read and I’m second-guessing Who Did It. I can’t wait to dive back in and finally find out who the killer is!

BOUGHT (not pictured)
Whistling Past the Graveyard by Susan Crandall
Cassie and Hannah reviewed this one last year in their Favorite Factor feature and put this book on my radar. Recently Ellice got a copy and brought it to my attention once more. I’ve thought about borrowing it from the library a few times, but each time other books got in the way. THEN audible featured this book as one of their Daily Deals and after a quick text to Cassie I shelled out three whole dollars for it. Southern fiction, set in the 60s, and a nine-year-old narrator. This has Leah written all over it!

FOR REVIEW
A God in Ruins by Kate Atkinson
AHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!! KEYSMASHES AND FAILS EVERYWHERE!! A God in Ruins is a companion novel to Life After Life, one of my top reads of 2013 and, seriously if you haven’t heard of LAL you need to crawl out from the rock you’re living under. This novel follows Ursula’s brother Teddy and I cannot wait to jump in! Thank you, Little, Brown!!

The Winter Family by Clifford Jackman
The Winter Family follows “a group of ruthless outlaws from its genesis during the American Civil War all the way to a final bloody stand in the Oklahoma territories.” UM. UMMMMM!!! Okay, 1. The Civil War. Yes. 2. Historical Fiction! 3. FAMILY SAGA. Is Doubleday a codename for my mom?? They get me. In this family there’s a psychopathic killer, an ex-slave, a child prodigy, bounty hunters, political thugs. Should I be concerned that I’m starry-eyed? Thank you, Doubleday!!

Have you read any of these? What are you reading right now?? Listening to? What did YOU get this week?

In Case You Missed It
Daryl Gregory dips into YA with Harrison Squared, a Lovecraft-esque novel about a boy, a strange town, a creepy cult, and sea monsters.

Jojo Moyes Giveaway! One Plus One (one of my top reads of 2014!) is out in paperback next week and it’s now time to announce the winner: JULIE! Congratulations!!

4 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 3/29

  1. I cannot wait to read One Plus One, thank you so much again for the giveaway! I actually squealed a little when I found out I won! lol. I’m currently reading Best Friends Forever by Jennifer Weiner and I’m not overly thrilled with it…I’m just over half way now and debating on abandoning it. Lol….bummer! I read Attachments before this one and loved it! I thought it was so cute

Leave a Reply

