Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 3/22: BLUE.

BOUGHT
Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
Yep, I’ve decided it’s time for me to finally see what all the fuss is about with this one. I’ve heard some pretty good things from friends I trust, so we’ll see how it goes!

Windfallen by Jojo Moyes
aka Foreign Fruit (which I nearly bought as well – thanks for the heads up, goodreads!) At the moment I have four Jojos under my belt and I’m slowly working my way through the rest of her novels. Absolutely, completely, 100% one of my all-time favorite authors ♥

FOR REVIEW
Aunt Dimity and the Summer King by Nancy Atherton
eep, this is the 20th volume in the Aunt Dimity series! You know those series you’ve been eyeing for years, the series you plan on reading someday? Aunt Dimity is that series for me, so when the publicist reached out to me about this one I pounced (and most likely used a few more exclamation marks than necessary – if you’ve ever received an email/text from me you know I’m basically 95% !!!!s) Thank you, Viking!!

Harrison Squared by Daryl Gregory
I had received an ARC of this one a few months ago (check back next week for my review!) and Tor was nice enough to send along a finished copy. A creepy cult-like religion, sea monsters, and one REALLY odd town made this one a ton of fun! One of my first reviews on this blog was one of Gregory’s earlier novels and I’ve been meaning to read more of his books since then. He typically sticks to Adult, but this YA was seriously great. Thank you, Tor!!

Scent of Triumph by Jan Moran
The publicists at St. Martin’s know me a bit too well, one of them in particular. She always knows JUST what I’d love and sends me some amazing books. WWII fiction makes me heart beat a little faster and this one follows a French perfumer as she leaves her son behind in war-torn Poland and makes the trip across the Atlantic, hoping to start a new life in America, ultimately mingling with Hollywood’s elite. YES. Thank you, St. Martin’s Press!!

Undertow by Michael Buckley
The start of a new trilogy, the rise of ocean-dwelling warriors, Coney Island. I have NO idea what this book is going to be like, but it certainly sounds interesting! I’m not entirely sure how I feel about it being compared to The Outsiders, but I have a good record with HMH’s books, so! Thank you, HMH!!

Have you read any of these? What books did YOU get this week??

In Case You Missed It
My second reread of the year: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. If you know me you already know how this went.

Who’s ready for another round of GoodReads Recommends?? This time we’re looking at Contemporary Thrillers!

2 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 3/22: BLUE.

Leave a Reply

