Uncategorized

#ReRead2015: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

Last week I treated myself to a beautiful hardback of Roald Dahl’s Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. If you know me you know I worship Dahl above all others and although I own very well-loved (aka battered, taped-together) copies of his books, I couldn’t resist picking up the hardback. Surprisingly it was Matt who convinced me to grab it! He’s constantly trying to get me to get rid of books, find places to put the ones I have (I have a little office area/reading nook and there are books everywhere – the floor, the windowsills, it’s a nightmare). So when I sent him a text asking if I should grab it (and for $1 too!), I never expected him to reply with a hearty YES. ♥

WHEN I First Read


Back in 3rd grade I had the most amazing teacher. She introduced me to Roald Dahl and throughout the school year she used his novels in class and I met characters I would love forever: The BFG, James, Danny. She really must have made an impression on my class because years later when I was a Senior, I decided to read The BFG. So many classmates saw what I was reading and throughout the day they came up to me and went on and on about their love of that book, memories from our elementary reading class, etc. :)

WHAT I Remember


For the most part, everything. Or, rather, the movie (Gene Wilder’s version, not Depp’s tyvm). I know Dahl wasn’t a fan of the original, but it’s one of the few movies that, if it’s on tv, I will drop EVERYTHING to watch. There were a few trivial things I had forgotten: Charlie’s dad works in a toothpaste factory, the Oompa Loompa backstory, but for the most part I remembered everything and diving back into the story was like being wrapped up in a favorite blanket. Comfort read to the max.

WHY I Wanted to Re-Read


I had just found that hardback and Roald Dahl is an all-time favorite. His classics are just so easy to slide into and they hold up SO well.

HOW I Felt After Re-Reading


Bittersweet is the best word I can think of. Those days in 3rd grade opened my eyes to authors who would ultimately become my world. It also made me want to track down a copy of Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator for a reread (I’ve only read it once and that was back in elementary school). I only remember bits and pieces, certain scenes here and there, so jumping into that story again would be wonderful. Also, I want to watch the movie and sing along – I have the soundtrack on my ipod and I have NO REGRETS.

WOULD I Re-Read Again


Absolutely. A reason I wanted that hardback is so that one day I’d have something to pass down to my kids (in the meantime I’ll be spreading the Dahl love to my nieces). I loved this book just as much as I did when I was 7 and I know I’ll still love it when I’m 70. ♥

6 thoughts on “#ReRead2015: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

  1. I love Roald Dahl too and as a kid I read every single one of his books. I borrowed most from the library back then, so recently I bought a box set of paperbacks and started rereading them. I’m actually reading them to my 6 year old. So far we have read Fantastic Mr. Fox, George’s Marvelous Medicine and The Magic Finger. Currently we are reading Matilda then I think we will move on to the Charlie books. So much fun to read again after all these years. And now my son is growing to love Dahl too.

  2. I used to be obsessed with Roald Dahl; in fact, I probably still am! I loved all his books as a younger reader, and I would certainly revisit them again, if given the opportunity. So glad you were able to read some Dahl, and one of my favorites too!

Leave a Reply

