Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 3/15

Beware the Ides of March! Not quite sure what today will hold but Pi Day was definitely awesome. Pies, puppies, and weather so warm I drove around with the windows down. ♥

BOUGHT
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl
I found a beautiful hardback (complete with Quentin Blake illustrations obvs!) and couldn’t pass it up. If you know me, you know how I feel about Dahl.

FOR REVIEW
Let Me Die in His Footsteps by Lori Roy
Two Southerns families “touched by an evil that has been passed between generations.” OOH. It looks like this one alternates between the 1950s and the 1930s so I’m already intrigued, and Lori Roy won an Edgar Award (yep, named after Poe!) for one of her earlier novels. Small town in the South, dual eras, dark secrets, definitely a Leah read! Thank you, Dutton!!

Midnight Crossroad by Charlaine Harris
I’ve never read any of the Sookie novels, I’ve never watched True Blood. I typically don’t read Paranormal (and have only a few Urban Fantasy authors I trust), but I’ll have to see what this one is all about. A town that isn’t exactly what it seems…and that’s really all I’m getting from the blurb. The reviews aren’t all that great, but I’m hoping it’ll have a Cainsville feel to it. Thank you, Ace!!

Have you read any of these? What books did YOU get this week??

In Case You Missed It
Alice Hoffman’s Middle Grade effort, Nightbird was a magical little slip of a novel that certainly charmed me, but at times it felt like a children’s book written specifically for adults. I can’t imagine handselling this one to a child, though the parent might enjoy it!

7 reasons YOU should be reading Seraphina and Shadow Scale I took a break from my usual review style and essentially fangirled all over these two books. DRAGONS, PEOPLE. Don’t be like me and wait years before finally reading this series! I ended up marathoning both back-to-back last weekend and it was the best decision ever.

#HailToTheKing: Rage my second #hailtotheking novel was a total dud. Sorry, Stephen. I wanted to love this one (especially since it’s barely 100 pages) but I was bored out of my mind. If you’re participating in this challenge, our first check-in is now up and there’s a link to it in the post!

3 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 3/15

Leave a Reply

