weekly wrap-up 3/8

HAPPY SUNDAY! How was your week? It’s slowly, oh so slowly, warming up here – next week is supposed to be in the high 50s/low 60s and OH MY GOSH how sad that we’re all so excited. Are you still buried under a ton of snow? Are you living in a nice, warm place? (if so I hope you feel my glare through the screen!)

Because it was sort of nice-ish yesterday, Matt and I headed to my all-time favorite place ever, Soergel Orchards. The best part about Soergel’s is the animals and I was so sad that it was too cold for them to be out. Dudley is a GIGANTIC pig and you can bet I’ll be visiting once it’s warmer so I can be with my buddy again ♥ I posted a few photos on instagram (let’s be friends!), including the most adorable Sesame Street marshmallows. Too cute. They’re hosting a beer tasting soon and, yeah, I just might have to check that out!

FOR REVIEW
The Mapmaker’s Children by Sarah McCoy
The daughter of John Brown becomes a mapmaker for the Underground Railroad (!!! SOLD ALREADY). In the present day, a woman and her husband move into an old house and discover the remains of an Underground Railroad doll with a past full of secret messages and danger. Well this is a Leah Read if I ever saw one! Thank you, Crown!!

The Midnight Witch by Paula Brackston
lol this is now the third copy I’ve received – the ARC, the hardback, and now the trade paperback. :) Perhaps it’s time for a giveaway?? Last week I received an ARC of Brackston’s upcoming The Silver Witch and I’m looking forward to reading both books! Thank you, Thomas Dunne Books!!

Have you read either of these? What books did YOU get this week??

In Case You Missed It
February Recap! Two of these books are showing up again on my Top Reads of 2015 post!

Despite a few minor issues, I really enjoyed Jennifer Chiaverini’s latest, Mrs. Grant and Madame Jule. Y’all know how I feel about the Civil War/Civil War-era fiction, so this was right up my alley. There was a surprising amount of time devoted to General Grant (NOT complaining – and far more emotional than I had expected) but the ending left me wanting.

2 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 3/8

  1. Alexa S. (@alexalovesbooks) says:

    I’m seriously so excited for warmer weather! Even though it’s still icy and there are piles of snow everywhere, I definitely feel like the weather is (very slowly) improving. Hopefully, it stays that way :) The farm you visited sounds super cute!

Leave a Reply

