February 2015 Recap!


image via pinterest

REVIEWS
The Rabbit Back Literature Society by Pasi Ilmari Jaaskelainen
Talk about a letdown – a book that should have been perfect for me (Magical Realism! An elite secret society that’s heavy on the SECRET part! A murder mystery! Comparisons to Twin Peaks and Donna Tartt!) fell flat. The main character was constantly going on about her perfect lips and defective ovaries and far too much of the book was devoted to The Game, an odd ritual members of the society play. I’m usually all about Nordic fiction, but this one wasn’t for me.

The Secrets of Midwives by Sally Hepworth
Initially I was hesitant to read about this one – what do I know about childbirth and midwives? Turns out I should have listened to the publicist. This one was a one-sitting read with a character I adored and would LOVE to see featured in her own book! Sure, I saw the Big Reveal coming early and I struggled reading one of the character’s chapters, but in the end I enjoyed this one.

Dead Spots by Rhiannon Frater
I’m a little disappointed this is just a standalone! The book ends in a way that totally works for revisiting in the future (HINT, HINT, MS. FRATER). Although I wouldn’t exactly call this one Horror (in my review I dubbed it Horror-lite) I love the world building, the dead spots, the nightmare creatures that feed on your fear. Its hefty length shouldn’t scare off readers – this was a super quick (and fun!) read!

The Room by Jonas Karlsson
Another Nordic novel…another dud. Only this time around, I was enraged to the point of nearly throwing the book across the room. The INCREDIBLE premise (a man discovers a room in his office building that only he can see) couldn’t make up for the absolutely awful, horrible, vile main character. Don’t believe me? Don’t worry – I shared quotes!

The Tiger by John Vaillant
AN ALL-TIME FAVORITE READ. An oh so happy accident led me to this novel and I haven’t shut up about it since! THIS is what non-fiction is all about. Part true crime (where the tiger is the villain), part anthropological and history study, part character exploration (where the characters are all real people). I was completely and utterly floored by this book – it’s no surprise Vaillant won awards for his writing/journalism! Just one book and this is a new autobuy author! Also, the fact that I posted this on Valentine’s Day should say a little something about how much I loved this book.

The Accidental Empress by Allison Pataki
A TOP READ OF 2015! I fell hard for Allison’s debut last year and when I received a copy of this one in November, I couldn’t stop myself. I usually don’t read books that far in advance, but I just HAD to get back to her writing. This one follows Sisi as she marries into the Hapsburg Empire. Loved, loved, loved. Although, don’t be like me and get too excited that you head to wikipedia before you’re finished reading. I accidentally spoiled HUGE scenes!

Princess Decomposia and Count Spatula by Andi Watson
Hands down, the cutest graphic novel ever! The Princess of the Underworld needs to hire a new court chef and interviews Count Spatula. A beautiful, super adorable story follows. Plus, the art can’t be beat here! Fantastic!

A DNF and a Dud
The DNF: Witherwood by Obert Skye – this Middle Grade novel sounded great, but I barely made it 100 pages in. While I love reading MG, this is a book that I feel is definitely more suited for actual MG readers. I found the humor more disgusting than funny and nothing about the mysterious school compelled me to continue reading.

The Dud: The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
LOWER YOUR PITCHFORKS, GUYS! I know this is THE book of the year and I wanted to love it, but it never grabbed me. The characters were all awful – and NOT in a way that made them fun to read about. I was completely fine with setting the book down and not reading for the rest of the day. Maybe my expectations were too high?

FEATURES
weekly wrap-up 2/1: Birthdays! Superbowl! SNOW!
weekly wrap-up 2/8: Red Velvet Oreos! A big box from Candlewick! Vacation!
weekly wrap-up 2/15: Heart-shaped pizza! Feeding a new obsession! Middle Grade!
weekly wrap-up 2/22: New book from a favorite author! A Middle Grade sequel! KELLEY ARMSTRONG!

MISC
On Finding a Reading System that Works for Me
More than a few bloggers have discussed feeling overwhelmed by their shelves – what book do I read next?? In this post I talked a little about how I came up with a ‘system’ that works for me!

#LoveAThon Intro Post
My first time participating, but it won’t be the last! I met a ton of new people and had an absolute blast.

2 thoughts on “February 2015 Recap!

Leave a Reply

