Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 2/22

Happy Sunday, everyone! How was your week? This weekend we got a huge snowstorm – the city was practically a dead zone it was so empty. Businesses were closed, roads were silent. I took full advantage of the weather and stayed in my pjs all day. SAD THOUGH, because my vacation ends today. :( I haven’t been to work since February 6…I go back tomorrow and I am not ready.

FROM THE LIBRARY
The Jaguar’s Children by John Vaillant
It’s here, it’s here!! If you somehow missed it, head over here to read all about the oh-so-happy accident that led me to discover this amazing writer. I’m shocked by how short this book is: less than 300 pages! I have the highest expectations for this one – don’t fail me now, Vaillant!

The Tomb of Shadows (Seven Wonders #3) by Peter Lerangis
Percy Jackson fans, take note. These books are a ton of fun (you can check out my reviews for the first two here), full of mythology and adventure. I adore Middle Grade and I’m very excited to sink back into this delightful world!

FOR REVIEW
Empire of Night (Age of Legends #2) by Kelley Armstrong
A NEW KELLEY ARMSTRONG!!! Last summer I fell hard for her Cainsville series, but have yet to read any of her YA (I know, I know)! You can bet I’ll be picking up a copy of Sea of Shadows soon!! Thank you, HarperCollins!

Have you read any of these? What books did YOU get this week?

In Case You Missed It
Since November I have been going crazy over Allison Pataki’s The Accidental Empress and now I can FINALLY share my thoughts with you guys! Historical fiction fans, this is an author you need on your radar (and shelves!), PRONTO. She’s not only a fabulous storyteller, but her eye for detail is unlike any other. The Accidental Empress follows the very real Sisi (Pataki’s novels are biographical fiction which makes me even more starry-eyed!) as she wins the heart of Emperor Franz Josef and becomes a Hapsburg Empress. So, so much love.

#LoveAThon kicked off!! The chat was an absolute blast and I’m so, so excited to see what’s in store for today!

2 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 2/22

Leave a Reply

