#LoveAThon intro post!


The Book Blogger Love-A-Thon is a two-day event hosted by Alexa!
  • What’s your name?

Leah!

  • Where in the world are you blogging from?

Pittsburgh, PA. We have a ton of Indie bookshops here and for a while I had a short-lived feature called Books in the Burgh where I highlighted some of them (this was also the perfect excuse to buy more books!) Should I start it back up again??

  • How did you get into blogging in the first place?

Way, way back in the late ’90s there were Harry Potter message boards I used to visit. At the time LiveJournal was taking off and a lot of my friends were making the move. It was only natural to see what all the fuss was about. In additional to a personal blog, I ran a pretty successful music community there where I featured and reviewed all sorts of Asian musicians. I kept that up for a few years and from there I would up reviewing television shows for an online site. When the site became too large to be run by one guy, a company bought it and that was when I took a breather. In the summer of 2011, The Pretty Good Gatsby was born.

  • How did you come up with your blog name?

By partying with Jay? I wanted something bookish but a little off-beat and quirky.

  • What genre do you read and review the most on your blog?

Historical fiction is my jam.

  • What other types of posts do you do on your blog, apart from reviews?

I haven’t updated it recently, but I have a feature called History 101 where I combine my love of history with a passion for books.

I also have a feature I love called Get Your Fix where I round up a bunch on novels (both reviewed on the blog and books I haven’t yet read) that all deal with a certain topic. So far I’ve discussed books focusing on art, the Civil War, and the Romanovs.

Another book-related feature is GoodReads Recommends where I take a look at some of the books GR recs – there have been some winners so far!

  • Best blogging experience so far?

Oh, you know, THAT TIME I WAS QUOTED IN A BOOK!!!

  • Favorite thing about the blogging community?

Totally a cop-out answer, but the bloggers. Not only have I met people I otherwise would never have gotten to know, but I’ve also discovered new books I wouldn’t have dreamed of picking up!

  • Name the 5 books you’re most excited for this 2015!

OH LORD. Off the top of my head:

Prudence by Gail Carriger | March
EEEEE, A NEW GAIL CARRIGER SERIES! I recently fell hard for her Finishing School series!

The Dead Lands by Benjamin Percy | April
A post-apocalyptic re-imagining of Lewis & Clark!

A God in Ruins by Kate Atkinson | May
A companion novel to Life After Life, one of my Top Reads of 2013!

Finders Keepers by Stephen King | June
This year Cassie and I are teaming up for #hailtotheking, a year-long Stephen King reading challenge!

Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee | July
YOU’RE A LIAR IF YOU AREN’T EXCITED FOR THIS ONE

  • What’s an underrated book or series that you think everyone should read?

The Perilous Gard by Elizabeth Marie Pope. YA Historical Fantasy from the 70s! Tudors, fairy folk, the greatest YA romance I have ever read.

  • Which book boy or girl would be your book BFF?

Percy Weasley, though that’s more of a book BF. ♥

  • Apart from reading, what are your other hobbies or interests?

My studies focused on the Civil War, but anything Military makes my heart skip a beat. I also love Imperial Russia, crime dramas (UM CAN WE DISCUSS THE FALL?!?), and I’m an amateur beekeeper!

  • Apart from book shopping, what else do you like shopping for?

Clothes! The spare bedroom in our house is my closet. I’m also a big fan of cutesy little knickknacks. Anything kitschy.

  • At a party, the DJ suddenly changes the song – and it’s your song. What song would be playing?

That’s a toughie – I go through phases. I tend to stick to a folksy, Americana sound, but I rock out to showtunes and Disney soundtracks too!

  • Pick out either a book you want turned into a film/TV show, or a film/TVshow you want turned into a book.

Fingers forever crossed that American Gods will one day come out of Production Limbo!

16 thoughts on “#LoveAThon intro post!

  1. Katie @ Bookish Illuminations says:

    Love your questionnaire answers! Of course, I LOVE your answers! Love your History 101 feature, and so glad I have someone to get excited about historical fiction with. There are some on your top 5 list that I now have to add. I have Life after Life and I still haven’t read it! I was excited thought when I saw that Atkinson had that new book coming out. And of course, the Harper Lee. I’m sure people will be really talking about that one. And, did you know I still have to read American Gods?!? My TBR is bursting!!

  2. jessicarainbowinspiration says:

    I loveGail Carriger too! Looking forward to Prudence! “History 101” and “Get Your Fix” sound so cool! Going to check them out!

  3. Alexa S. (@alexalovesbooks) says:

    Can I please just say that I adore your blog name? It’s seriously memorable. And I’ve been loving all the recs I’ve been getting from you lately, so you should know that! Lost and Found is coming up for me soon, just because I need a break from my fantasies for a bit.

    Thanks for joining the Love-A-Thon!

  4. Jackie G. says:

    Waaaat? You’re an amateur beekeeper? Well, that’s just…the bee’s knees! How did you become interested in beekeeping? Having been stung a couple of times in my childhood, I think I would be too terrified. Then again, I did go to a honey festival two summer ago. There were many a bee there, and it was a fascinating experience. I tried honey straight from the comb, and it was amazing.

    Also, thank you for putting the Dead Lands on my radar. Post-apocalyptic re-imagining of Lewis & Clark? How can I resist?! (I cannot!)

  5. Cynthia (Afterwritten) says:

    Hi Leah! :D Love your blog name. The Great Gatsby is such a beautiful book. ;__;

    Oh my goooood, I am dying for the American Gods movie. I absolutely loved that book. I hate hearing about all these books that might get turned into movies and then they’re just never heard of again. ): It makes me so excited and then I’m like WAAAAAH WHEN IS IT EVER GOING TO HAPPEN.

    Showtunes and Disney soundtracks are the best. :D

  6. Lauren @ Lose Time Reading says:

    AMATEUR BEEKEEPER?! That’s amazing and so freaking cool!

    Disney Soundtracks :) I love that because I spend approximately 75% of the time I am at work serenading my coworkers with assorted Disney soundtracks ahah. This week was Frozen and The Little Mermaid :P

    I haven’t read American Gods yet, but it sounds like it would be amazing as a movie or TV show!!

Leave a Reply

