Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 2/8

My vacation started yesterday and it. feels. wonderful. Not only did I get two books in (my big plan for these next few weeks is to get a SERIOUS jump on reviews), but there were also homemade blueberry pancakes, red velvet Oreos (!!!), and bowling involved. Let’s hope the rest of my vacation is just as fantastic!

BOUGHT
The Girl Who Chased the Moon by Sarah Addison Allen
I’ve been amassing quite a SAA collection – a ton of blogger buddies AND my mom all swear by her work so I definitely want to check out her stuff. I know she’s THE name when it comes to Magical Realism and I think I’d really enjoy her books. Also – they’re so short! I hadn’t realized how tiny they were before!

So We Read On by Maureen Corrigan
The subtitle: How The Great Gatsby Came to Be and Why It Endures. Yep, you KNOW I’m all about that! This one was borrowed from a friend who absolutely loved it and immediately pushed it on me. :D I’M NOT COMPLAINING! Look out, Gatsby, I’m coming for you!

Letters from Skye by Jessica Brockmole
I first grabbed this one from my library last summer, but never got around to reading it. When I found a copy for $1 I couldn’t resist. I’m a little nervous about the format – I’m not really a huge fan of epistolary novels – but it spans two continents and two world wars. This is like a book written for ME.

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
Here it is, the book everyone’s talking about. Last week I requested a copy at the library and ended up being 21st in line. Over the course of the week it slowly crept down to 19 but by that time I became too impatient and ended up buying it. Two work buddies with VERY similar tastes as me absolutely loved this one, so I’m super excited to read it!

FOR REVIEW/WON
Over at Small Review I won a box of Candlewick Press books!

Apart from Boy Proof I’m familiar with these titles and have yet to read a single one, so I’m delighted at this package! Thanks, Small! Thanks, Candlewick Press!

Girl on the Golden Coin by Marci Jefferson
I love me some historical fiction – especially when it involves real people! This one deals with the Stuart monarchy, King Louis XIV, and the mistress tasked with stopping a war. I know NOTHING about the 1600s, so this one will be fun! Thanks, Thomas Dunne Books!

Dead Spots by Rhiannon Frater
I’ve already read this one – keep an eye out for my review next week! – and I was surprised by how much I enjoyed it! There are Dead Spots that exist in this world, doorways that open to the land of dreams and nightmares and once you’re inside, you can’t get out. There were definitely issues I had with this book, but it was a shockingly quick read and held my interest the entire time. Thanks, Tor Books!

The World Before Us by Aislinn Hunter
A five-year-old who went missing in the woods. A woman who disappeared from a Victorian asylum 125 year before. The archivist connected to them both. This books took twelve years to create and I am beyond excited to dive into it! Thanks, Hogarth!

Have you read any of these? What books did YOU get this week??

In Case You Missed It
The Rabbit Back Literature Society was a novel I wished I would have loved more. It seemed like a book written just for me: Twin Peaks-esque, a literary mystery, a hint of Magical Realism, and the murder that brings it all together. Unfortunately, the main character didn’t work for me and a ridiculous amount of the book was devoted to an odd game the society members play. This is translated from Finnish, so I don’t know if that’s to blame, but I’m so disappointed this wasn’t the fun and quirky book I thought it would be.

On Finding a Reading System that Works for Me These past few weeks I’ve noticed a LOT of bloggers talked about how overwhelmed they felt when looking at their bookcases and choosing their next read. In this post I get a little rambly, but I discussed how I discovered a system that cuts down on all the stress!

4 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 2/8

  1. Yay for winning! They sent those books fast! :)

    I’m looking forward to your thoughts on the Girl on the Golden Coin. I had an e-galley a while back but didn’t have the time to read it. I’ve heard mixed reviews and I have mixed feelings about the 17th century, so I’m curious to see what you think.

  2. I listened to the audio of Girl on the Train and devoured it! I’m also really interested in Letters from Skye. I have to tell you that The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane is one of my favorite books of all times and I used it in my dissertation!! Can’t wait to hear what you think of it!!

Leave a Reply

