weekly wrap-up 2/1

I’m all sappy this morning: my niece, my Mini Me (when we first started dating Matt was convinced she was my daughter!) turns six today and my heart is bursting and breaking. When did she get to be so big?? The day she was born the Steelers had just won the SuperBowl and all the babies in the hospital were given little black and gold hats. :) ♥ A happy, happy birthday to my favorite Kindergartner.

Are you guys making anything good for the game? Going anywhere special? Every year my dad has a big party, but it doesn’t look like we’re going to make it this year. My hometown is up north a bit and total country (lots of classmates lived on farms, we drove tractors to school, etc). The six inches we have in the city? Nothing compared to what it’s like at my dad’s! And it doesn’t show any signs of slowing, so looks like we’re going to stay inside this SuperBowl.

FROM THE LIBRARY
The Tiger by John Vaillant
This one turned out to be a happy accident. I headed to my library because I wanted to read Vaillant’s newest, The Jaguar’s Children but it wasn’t in yet. Instead I grabbed his nonfiction book about the 1997 annihilation of a Russian village and the tiger that can’t seem to be tracked. I’m halfway through right now (hoping to finish this morning) and am loving it! …I guess it’s a little morbid to be so delighted with a book about a tiger eating people, but it’s seriously fascinating.

FOR REVIEW
The Room by Jonas Karlsson
This teensy novel is an odd story about a man who discovers an office in his building that no one else can see. I’ve already read this one and, honestly, the main character totally ruined the story for me. He was horrible, misogynistic, and just plain rude with a superiority complex that wouldn’t quit. I don’t know if something was lost in translation (this is a Swedish novel), but I just couldn’t with this one.

Ask the Dark by Henry Turner
I’ve had fantastic luck in the past with YA Thrillers, especially from HMH, so I’m really looking forward to this one! It seems like the publisher is pushing this one pretty hard – I’ve seen multiple ads and write-ups for it. We’ll see how it goes!

The Tragic Age by Stephen Metcalfe
I had never heard of this one before it arrived at my door. From what I can tell it’s a YA coming of age novel with a male POV (yay!). It’s from St. Martin’s Griffin, the YA imprint of St. Martin’s and I adore their books, so I’m pretty excited about this one.

In Case You Missed It
Samantha Shannon’s The Mime Order was possibly the biggest disappointment of the year (yep, already). While I loved The Bone Season, I didn’t feel the same excitement with this one and abandoned it. Total DNF.

My first reread in four years saved me, though! Bich Minh Nguyen’s Pioneer Girl was just as lovely as I had remembered – even if I had forgotten about some minor details! Seriously, if you loved Little House on the Prairie as a child, check out this book.

January recap! Apart from a few duds, January was an AMAZING month of reading!

3 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 2/1

  1. Alexa S. (@alexalovesbooks) says:

    Yeah, I have no plans to leave my house for the Super Bowl today! Just going to relax and hang out at home ;) And I’m so sorry to hear that The Mime Order just didn’t work for you. I really enjoyed it, but it definitely had a lot of information being thrown at the reader (again).

Leave a Reply

