Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 1/25

January was a strange one for me – and NOT in a bad way! I don’t know where this month’s motivation and productivity came from, but it reached the point to where I had a hard time finding dates to schedule reviews because I already had so many scheduled. That has never happened before and, let’s be real, it’s awesome. Fingers crossed that February will be equally as fantastic!

FROM THE LIBRARY
Red Rising by Pierce Brown
This is the first book in the Red Rising trilogy and I have no idea what it’s about. I’ve seen lots of buzz for both this one and the sequel (which just recently came out, I believe!) and decided to go for it. I’ve been in the mood for a good fantasy series and that’s what initially drew me to this one, but I’m getting the sense it’s more dystopian. ugh. We’ll see how it goes!

FOR REVIEW
The Secrets of Midwives by Sally Hepworth
I received an ARC of this one back in November and was delighted to see a finished copy show up at my door. I haven’t yet read this one, but I have high hopes: multi-generational historical fiction and it’s from St. Martin’s – I tend to have really good luck with their books! (Thank you, St. Martin’s Press!)

A Woman Unknown by Francis Brody
This seems to be the fourth novel in a mystery series, but I’m thinking it’s one that can be read out of order. It’s been SO long since I spent some time with cozies and this time of year is made for curling up with a mystery! I’m especially excited about the main character of this series: she’s a WWI widow-turned-detective. YESSS. (Thank you, Minotaur!)

In Case You Missed It
HOO BOY. It was crazy here this week! Monday was Edgar Allan Poe’s birthday so OF COURSE I had to get my party on!

David Whitehouse’s Mobile Library caught me off guard in the beginning (I have a feeling that was the author’s intention). I wanted to like this one more than I did. I expected this would be one of my hidden gems novels. Unfortunately, the joy I had while reading completely vanished once I finished and I’m having a hard time even remembering details from the book. Boo.

GIVEAWAY TIME!!! Y’all remember how much I loved Pioneer Girl, right?? The paperback comes out next week and I HAVE A COPY UP FOR GRABS! Seriously, I loved this one so much (I’m currently re-reading it and am finding all sorts of lovely little details I had previously forgotten all about!): a Vietnamese-American woman moves home after getting her PhD and discovers a family heirloom might have once belonged to Laura Ingalls Wilder. If your childhood revolved about Little House on the Prairie, you need this book in your life! giveaway ends 1/28

Brooke Davis wrote a contender for Top Read of 2015. Lost & Found is a gorgeous, gorgeous novel that I devoured in a single sitting. You know those books you want to shout about from the rooftops? This is that novel. I read this one around Christmas, but even now I’m still thinking about those characters. Absolutely wonderful.

Rounding out this jam-packed week was Rebecca Scherm’s Unbecoming, a novel about an art heist gone wrong and the aftermath. While I did enjoy this one, I wish it would have been packaged or pitched different. Whereas I had expected a thriller, Unbecoming is actually more of a character study. Not a bad thing, but a bit jarring to read when you’re anticipating lots of action. Still a great story, though! AND it’s from Viking, so you know it’s a good one.

One thought on “weekly wrap-up 1/25

Leave a Reply

