Uncategorized

#hailtotheking: intro!

AWW YEAH. YOU KNOW WHAT TIME IT IS. It’s now 2015 and Cass and I are bringing you a whole year of Stephen King goodness! If you haven’t yet signed up for the challenge and wish to do so, there’s still time!

WHAT GOT YOU INTO STEPHEN KING?
I was always aware of him, and watched IT when I was probably way too young, but it wasn’t until 2011 that I actually read a book. I’m really curious about this man: looking at him, you wouldn’t think he’s the Granddaddy of Horror. I was talking with coworkers about his latest author photo and mentioned he looks more like a guy at a family reunion who probably has a TON of Dad Jokes that crack him up. He’s been on the bestsellers lists for decades and at work he’s one of our biggest sellers. I want to know just what makes this man’s books so special.

HOW LONG HAVE YOU BEEN A FAN? OR ARE YOU A NEWBIE?
Total newbie. I think that, because I’m a bookseller, I’m more familiar with his works than another King newbie would be, but in terms of actual novels read, I’ve got a whole three under my belt.

FIRST KING BOOK YOU READ? (OR PLAN TO!) DID YOU LIKE IT?
My first novel? The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon and after one book I was ready to cut all ties with Mr. King. I just couldn’t get into this one at ALL and was praying for a bear (was it a bear? I was never sure on whether or not it was an actual animal or a supernatural creature) to come out and eat that girl just so something exciting would happen.

Thankfully I didn’t write him off all together and ended up really enjoying Cell and The Shining. It’s still too early for me to tell if The Girl was just a fluke or if I tend to prefer King’s classics. We’ll find out this year!

The first book I plan on reading is his latest, Revival, which my dear C gifted me!

LEVEL YOU’RE AIMING FOR?
I’ve been debating between DAREDEVIL or FEARLESS. While sixteen seems like a daunting number, we’re including short stories, so I can knock that out in no time! That said, I’m shooting for DAREDEVIL: 12-15 novels or short stories.

4 thoughts on “#hailtotheking: intro!

Leave a Reply

