Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 12/28

Last weekend of 2014! Any final books you’re hoping to squeeze in before the new year? Sadly Matt was sick for Christmas and it’s currently spreading like wildfire at work, so I supposed it’s only a matter of time before I come down with whatever cold/flu it is. At this point I’d say it’s a lost cause attempting to stay healthy. I’ve accepted my fate.

GIFTED
My mama (hi, mom!) surprised me with three cookbooks I’ve been drooling over for months: Gina Homolka’s Skinnytaste, Jessica Merchant’s Seriously Delish, and Sarah Kate Gillingham & Faith Durand’s The Kitchn. All links lead to the blogs btw! Oh and while getting those links I saw that Gina posted a recipe last week for a sausage, cheese, and veggie egg bake. I NEED THIS IN MY LIFE. Forever loling at the ‘8 servings’ though. More like Leah will be hiding from the world while eating the entire pan. THERE ARE MUSHROOMS IN IT, IT’S HEALTHY OKAY?? DON’T JUDGE ME.

FOR REVIEW
St. Martin’s always sends me the greatest books. I received Shari Goldhagen’s In Some Other World, Maybe and I have to tell you guys, that cover is b-e-a-yootiful! This novel takes place in December 1992 and follows a group of teens from across America who happen to be seeing one particular movie. Adam is hoping to finally get the girl of his dreams before he leaves his Florida town. Sharon, living in Cincinnati, skips school to go to the theater so she can enjoy the film in peace. In Chicago, Phoebe and Oliver are on their first date. For the next two decades the novel follows these same teens and I am SO on board! Thank you, St. Martin’s Press!!

I received a GORGEOUS handmade card from Estelle (she recently shared past year’s cards and, I swear, she must be magic or something). The second I saw it I knew it was from The House Girl (one of my top picks of 2013)! ♥ I have been starry-eyed ever since.

In Case You Missed It
For Christmas I shared a link to Neil Gaiman reading A Christmas Carol.

This week’s weekend links include a slideshow of Idris Elba, NASA emailing hardware to outer space, and animals that make my heart sad.

DON’T FORGET there’s still time to sign up for our Stephen King reading challenge!

4 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 12/28

  1. Ooh, Seriously Delish is a fabulous book, as is Jessica’s blog! I can’t wait to check out the other cookbooks you mentioned – I do love a good recipe :)

Leave a Reply

