Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 12/21: two-week edition!

Here we are, another week down! This wrap-up is going to be for the past two weeks since last Sunday Cassie and I announced something huge! :)

How was your week? Mine involved last minute gifts (still need to get a few more!) and birthdays – a whirlwind of running around and dodging other shoppers (being tiny works in my favor here). I’m not going to be sad when the holidays are over. Not one bit. Are you someone who does all your shopping early to get it out of the way and are you like me and wait until you only have a few minutes left?

FOR REVIEW
Death of a Dishonorable Gentleman (Lady Montfort Mystery #1) by Tessa Arlen
Y’all know about my love for cozy mysteries, so when this one showed up at my door I did a little happy dance! It’s a Downton Abbey-esque world full of upstairs and downstairs – until the murder. When her nephew’s murder leads to her son, Lady Montfort’s costume ball is at stake. She enlists the help of her housekeeper and together they track down the killer. Thank you, Minotaur!

Harrison Squared by Daryl Gregory
One of my first reviews was for Raising Stony Mayhall and since then I’ve been itching to read more of his work! This one is described as a “Lovecraftian adventure of a teenage boy searching for his mother, and the macabre creatures he encounters” and that’s all I need. Thank you, Tor!

Lost & Found by Brooke Davis
Millie Bird is seven years old when her father dies and her mother leaves her in a department store. Agatha Pantha has not left her house in years, not since the death of her husband (a man she didn’t even like all that much). Karl the Touch Typist lost himself following the death of his wife. Now he’s on the run after breaking out of his nursing home. Lost & Found weaves these three lives together and my goodness, you guys it’s lovely. Definitely a one-sitting read! Thank you, Dutton!

WON
Hausfrau by Jill Alexander Essbaum
Anna was a good wife, mostly. That line instantly grabbed me and, while this doesn’t seem like my typical read (bored American housewife living in Switzerland with her husband) I’m willing to give it a shot. Especially after a reviewer compared Essbaum’s writing to Jojo Moyes’! SOLD. Thank you, Random House!

Have you heard about any of these?? What books did YOU get this week?

In Case You Missed It
I rambled about what I’ve been watching on Netflix and I’m ALWAYS open to recs!

Weekend links include more Harry Potter, a super expensive photograph, and the Best/Worst Red Carpet Moments!

We FINALLY spill the beans on what #hailtotheking is all about: A year-long Stephen King reading challenge!! Cassie and I are both beyond excited about this and it’s seriously no pressure and low-key. You pick the number of books/short stories you want to read and that’s it! Throughout the year we’ll have giveaways (Cassie currently has one for two Audible credits!), twitter chats, and all sorts of King-y goodness!

When Hannah and Kelly announced a re-read challenge I couldn’t resist. I’ve been wanting to re-read old favorites but never made time for them. Hopefully this is the motivation I need!

I rounded-up some unreviewed books. A favorite author didn’t quite deliver and a historical fiction was a quick DNF.

And, lastly, PART TWO of my top reads for 2014! Like Part One, I separated it into 2014 novels with highlights for pre-2014 and included a few 2015 novels I’ve already read!

One thought on “weekly wrap-up 12/21: two-week edition!

Leave a Reply

