Uncategorized

on re-reading

Prior to blogging, there was nothing I enjoyed more than re-reading! I loved revisiting worlds, spending hours lost with these characters I cherished. The series I have read and re-read the most is definitely Harry Potter, and I’m positive that’s the case for a lot of readers. With each new release I would go back and re-read the entire series. It hurts me to say I haven’t done that since the release of Deathly Hallows. Almost 8 years.

Other favorite re-reads are Neil Gaiman’s American Gods (this had always been a yearly re-read for me and to this day I still have theories about just who the forgotten god could be!) along with Good Omens which he co-authored with Terry Pratchett.

Time and time again I would pick up Sellevision, Augusten Burroughs’ take on home shopping channels. It’s delightfully cynical and zany and – best of all – can easily be read in one sitting. Perfect re-read material!

Since blogging, however, I just haven’t found (or, admittedly, made) time for novels I have already read, no matter how much I love them. I would LOVE to go back and binge on Redwall or The Chronicles of Chrestomanci (two series I read in middle school and thought the world of). Classics like East of Eden and A Farewell to Arms have been sitting on my shelves for years, despite falling hard for them the first time around.

When Hannah and Kelly broke the news that they’d be hosting a re-read challenge for 2015 I thought this was it, this is my chance to finally get off my butt and read those books I have been wanting to revisit for years. While I’m still a little hesitant to go all-in, I absolutely, definitely want to do this! Therefore I’m going to set my goal on the low side: 3-5 books. I think this is a totally doable number, and gives me a little wiggle room if I feel like bumping it up a bit!

4 thoughts on “on re-reading

  1. I re-read books all the time, especially when I am feeling stressed. You know how a lot of people have comfort food? Well, I have comfort books that I know I can count on for escape when life gets too complicated for little me. Note that my comfort books are not necessarily comfortable books; any of Jane Austen’s major six are always good ones for me. What are your 3-5?

Leave a Reply

