weekly wrap-up 11/30

I hope my American buddies had a wonderful Thanksgiving! God bless stretchy pants, that’s all I have to say. :)

You might have noticed it was a little quiet here this week – I took some time off for the holiday and it was perfect! I housesat for my grandparents while they flew to Denver to visit my uncle and aunt (and cousins!) which was sort of like a mini-vacay. Apart from the Denver crew, my family lives within walking distance of each other, so I was still able to run home and hang out with Matt after work. SPEAKING OF MATT! Today is his birthday! Seriously, if you didn’t know me and only heard his stories, you’d think I was two decades older instead of only two months.

I won’t get into the horrors of Friday, but that day was also my sister’s birthday! This week was jam-packed with cake and cookies and food ♥

While I never do any book bans, I’ve been very mindful of my purchases this past month – got lots of presents to buy! That said, I bought a few things at work (six books total PLUS a blu-ray) and after my discount my entire bill came to $6.94 so I don’t feel too bad. Two of the books I bought that aren’t shown are a Jamie Oliver cookbook (Jamie’s America – marked down to only 50 cents – BEFORE my discount!) and a Teddy Roosevelt book ($2 before my discount).

BOUGHT
Standing in the Light, When Will This Cruel War be Over?, and My Secret War
I’m slowly trying to complete my Dear America collection!

When Trumpets Call by Patricia O’Toole
Although my studies focused on the Civil War, Teddy will forever hold a special place in my heart. When I came across two books about him for crazy cheap I went for it. This one explores his life after he left the White House.

FOR REVIEW
Last week I was talking to a publicist about some of this year’s best books and she passed two of them along my way! Thank you, Viking/Penguin!!
The Ship of Brides by Jojo Moyes
Y’all should know by now how I feel about Jojo. I’ve been working my way through her backlist and I can’t wait to jump into this one!

The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd
Historical fiction that uses real figures from history is SO my thing (this week I finished Allison Pataki’s upcoming The Accidental Empress about the Hapsburgs and LOVED it!). I expect to love this one! Plus it’s from Viking.

In Case You Missed It
While my introduction to Sarah Jio’s work wasn’t the best, I’m glad I gave her a second chance with The Look of Love, a novel about a woman who can actually see love – in all its forms. I’m a fan of Magical Realism and this one came around at a time when I needed something happy and fluffy. That said, there were a few issues I had with some of the characters, but overall it was a quick and entertaining read!

3 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 11/30

Leave a Reply

