Uncategorized

let’s have a little TBR fun!

Last week I was tagged by one of my mostest favoritest people ever, Cassie. This meme was originally created by Dana & Rachel. LET’S DO THIS!

HOW DO YOU KEEP TRACK OF YOUR TBR PILE?

For physical books, well, um, that’s what the floor is for. I ran out of book shelves (need some gift ideas, Matt??) and so they’ve started taking over the floor and the lovely bay window I have in my little office-y/den/reading area. I also have my book jar that I made this summer! It’s a cute + fun way of choosing my next read when I get to be a little overwhelmed.

With e-books I don’t really have any kind of system. I never bothered arranging my nook and ARCs from netgalley are sorted by release date.

For the books I want to read but don’t own, GoodReads is a godsend. Earlier in the year I culled my GoodReads shelves and so far it’s been super helpful! The shelves I now have:

  • To Read
  • To Check Out – ADULT
  • To Check Out – YOUNG ADULT
  • To Check Out – COMICS
  • To Check Out – ADULT UNRELEASED
  • To Check Out – YOUNG ADULT UNRELEASED
  • To Read – ADULT PRIORITY
  • To Read – YOUNG ADULT PRIORITY

Pretty self-explanatory, no? To Read are the ones I for-sure want to read. The ones I want To Check Out are books I’m still not sure about, I’m a little iffy on, but not yet ready to make a pass. These could be brand new that haven’t gained much attention yet and have very few reviews or just books I want to look into more. Unreleased is the same deal; a book might sound interesting now, but when it’s released in seven months, my feelings could change. Priority is just that – I need these books in my life, like YESTERDAY.

IS YOUR TBR PILE MOSTLY PRINT OR E-BOOK?

Print by far! I mainly use my nook for digital ARCs. And crossword puzzles. I am a crossword puzzle fiend ♥

HOW DO YOU DETERMINE WHAT TO READ NEXT?

My book jar has been great! I also am a total mood reader. The cold weather has my heart set on mysteries and thrillers and I’m enjoying it! Prior to blogging I read nothing but thrillers and it’s so much fun returning to an old favorite!

For ARCs I tend to read by release date, especially when a date is getting close! Sometimes, though, if a book sounds SUPER AWESOME or if I’m entirely caught up (aaaahahaha right) I’ll skip around a bit.

A BOOK THAT’S BEEN ON YOUR TBR THE LONGEST

On GoodReads it’s Cory Doctorow’s Little Brother. I added it July 25, 2008. I actually had a copy of this one that I had lent to an ex-boyfriend, but when we broke up I never got it back.. Until I culled my shelves it had been Elizabeth Flock’s Me & Emma, but when I did a little more reading about the book, I decided a plot involving child abuse wasn’t going to work for me.

As for a book I already own, that’s a toughie! Maybe a Redwall novel? I fell hard for that series back in 6th grade and, although I bought every one I could find, there are still a few I need to read. Some of my favorite childhood memories deal with these books – a re-read is definitely in order.

A BOOK YOU RECENTLY ADDED TO YOUR TBR PILE:

On GoodReads: Benjamin Percy’s The Dead Lands. It comes out in the spring and is a post-apocalyptic reimagining of the Lewis and Clark saga. Um, YES.

Recently bought: books one and two in Caroline Carlson’s The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates! Middle Grade Pirates!

A BOOK IN YOUR TBR PILE YOU NEVER PLAN ON READING:

Aaahhh, this is exactly why I went through and got rid of HUNDREDS of books! Maybe Wide Open by Nicola Barker. Not because I don’t want to read it, but because I’m having trouble tracking down a copy! Years ago I found Darkmans at Barnes & Noble and it ended up becoming an all-time favorite. Turns out it’s the third in the Thames Gateway trilogy…and the first two books don’t want to be found. :( WEEPING.

So going through my lists made me realize another round of culling is in order! There were lots of books I added only because they sounded interesting, not because I was actually curious about reading them. Sarah McCarry’s All Our Pretty Songs and Mary Brown’s The Unlikely Ones are on their way to getting the boot.

Y’all know I’m a BIG fan of Imperial Russia. The only reason I’d considered not reading Rupert Colley’s The Russian Revolution: History in an Hour is because it’s only available for Kindles.

Although I enjoyed Surrender to Sultry, the third in Macy Beckett’s Sultry Springs series, the more I think about it, the more I realize I have no interest in going back and reading the first. (Sultry no longer looks like a word.)

I’d like to think I’m pretty good at letting go of books. In the spring I went through my shelves and got rid of a TON of review copies I had no interest in and gave away a bunch of books I had bought on a whim or never planned on reading again. I’m a little more lenient when it comes to GoodReads, but I’d still like to go through those shelves again – going through them for this post made me cringe a little!

AN UNPUBLISHED BOOK ON YOUR TBR LIST YOU’RE EXCITED FOR:

HOO BOY. So I have a review copy of Allison Pataki’s The Accidental Empress (I loved her debut, The Traitor’s Wife) and I’m dying for a nice, quiet weekend when I can hide myself away from the world and read. This one comes out in February!

In January, Rebecca Scherm’s debut, Unbecoming drops and I need it in my life. Although I know nothing about the art world, I can’t get enough of it in novels! Especially art heists! Earlier in the year I discussed my love affair with the art novel and provided links to books I’ve reviewed here as well as others that sound fantastic!

It should come as no surprise that I’m slightly obsessed with historical fiction. Kate Alcott has a new one coming out in February, A Touch of Stardust, that goes behind the scenes of the filming of Gone With the Wind! Another hist fic I’m looking forward to is Kate Lord Brown’s The Perfume Garden (April!). Spain, 1930s. A house untouched for seventy years. A perfume maker with secrets of her own. As if that wasn’t enough to win me over, it’s described as being “perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Tatiana de Rosnay.” SOLD.

& one more (because I could seriously talk about upcoming books all day): finally – FINALLY! – the next Sentinels of New Orleans novel is coming out!! It’s been over a year since I read the third and I’m kind of going through withdrawal. This is my guilty pleasure series: a hot shapeshifter, undead Louis Armstrong and pirates, evil elves, wizards, this series has it all and I love it. Pirate’s Alley comes out in April!

A BOOK ON YOUR TBR LIST EVERYONE HAS READ BUT YOU:

lol where to start. I’m awful at keeping up with what everyone else is reading. Don’t hurt me guys – Liza Palmer’s Nowhere But Home WILL get read someday, I pinky-promise! I have both Angelfall AND World After by Susan Ee and they sound like books I’d absolutely love. Same with The Scorpio Races!

A BOOK ON YOUR TBR LIST THAT EVERYONE RECOMMENDS TO YOU:

Me Before You. I’m working my way through her backlist and I do own a copy of this one, but I have yet to read it. I don’t know if it’s because there’s so much hype (although I know I already love her books) or because I heard it’s soul-crushing (even though every single book of hers has made me cry). Something’s holding me back but it’ll happen. I can’t not read a Jojo.

A BOOK ON YOUR TBR LIST YOU’RE DYING TO READ:

Sworn to Silence by Linda Castillo. Cassie has been pushing this series something fierce and it’s totally a Leah read: a serial killer strikes an Amish community.

The Hero’s Guide to Being an Outlaw by Christopher Healy. I tore through the first two books, but I’m scared to read the third. I don’t want to say good-bye to these characters and as much as I want to read this one, I’m also putting it off for as long as I possibly can :(

HOW MANY BOOKS ARE ON YOUR GOODREADS TBR SHELF?

AHAHAHAHA. I’m so jealous of the people who have like 20. All of my to read shelves (excluding the to-check-out shelves) combined total 828.

4 thoughts on “let’s have a little TBR fun!

  1. BOO to not reading NOWHERE BUT HOME but YAY to wanting to read Sworn to Silence ;)

    love the TBR jar idea ;) and I’m also SO A MOOD READER. And love the thriller shout out — they still rock my world :) So many books I have to look up now!!

Leave a Reply

