Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 11/16

Winter has officially descended upon Pittsburgh this week: it’s snowed a few days this week, nothing major just some flurries here and there that didn’t stick, but any snow is too much snow thank you very much. How long until spring?

Also, can I just say I am CRAZY JEALOUS of those of you who have already started all of your holiday shopping. A few days ago my aunt announced she had just wrapped her last present and was done. WHAT. All I’ve managed to do so far is buy some cranberries for Thanksgiving…& Christmas? HA. Let’s not even go there. Please tell me I’m not the only one.

Book-wise it was a quiet week. I grabbed one from the library: Jessica Maria Tuccelli’s Glow. You might remember seeing it mentioned in my GoodReads Recommends post earlier this week. It sounded so fantastic that I immediately grabbed it and it hasn’t disappointed! I’m about halfway through and am loooving it. A family saga set in the South and told from the 1830s-1940s. And there’s a ghost. It’s seriously fab so far.

In Case You Missed It
I started a new feature I’m calling GoodReads Recommends. I absolutely love going through the site’s recommendations based on my shelves and what books I read. For this first edition I chose two pre-2014 novels I loved: A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki and The House of Velvet and Glass by Katherine Howe. Then I went through the recs GR gave and decided whether or not I’d be interested in reading the books. The results were a little surprising: out of the nine novels I list, six are novels I gave a want to read vote to (including Glow which I already grabbed!), I gave one book a someday, and two were a pass.

Dangerous Deceptions, the second novel in Sarah Zettel’s Palace of Spies series is now out and it was just as great as the first! I still have a few issues with the targeted audience (there are some pretty mature themes going on in these books), but wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this one.

This week’s weekend links include a Van Gogh-inspired solar-powered bike path (that’s absolutely gorgeous!), videos showing what the post-Jeopardy chats sound like, a cocktail recipe I’ll for sure be trying this Thanksgiving, why Pittsburghers should embrace our ugly accent, and more!

2 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 11/16

Leave a Reply

