Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 11/9

Happy Sunday! This past week was a pretty big one for me! Apparently Pittsburgh saw its first snowfall earlier this week but I was at work and from what I hear it was more slush than anything, so it totally doesn’t count at all. PICS OR IT DIDN’T HAPPEN.

Look who my surprise houseguest is! ♥ Leo’s back (haha, I accidentally typed bad and that works too!) and he’s grown so much since I last posted pictures of him! He’s staying with us for the weekend and my goodness, he’s been super affectionate – I don’t want to give him back! :(

It was a quiet week for books, but the ones I’ve received are pretty fab:
FROM THE LIBRARY
Etiquette & Espionage and Curtsies & Conspiracies (Finishing School #1-2) by Gail Carriger
A Steampunk YA series where Finishing School literally means finishing – these girls are trained in the art of assassination, poisons, fighting, and intelligence-gathering. I’ve already read the first and loved it! I’m hoping that by the time I finish the second, my library will have gotten in a copy of the third (which came out this week!).

FOR REVIEW (not pictured)
West of Sunset by Stewart O’Nan
I grabbed this one from netgalley (thank you, Viking!!). F. Scott Fitzgerald’s last years in Hollywood + an awesome cast of characters (Zelda, Hemingway, Dorothy Parker, Humphrey Bogart). YES.

THEN THIS HAPPENED!!!

In Case You Missed It
Lindsay Hunter’s Ugly Girls was a raw and emotionally-charged novel about two bitter, broken girls and their friendship that’s more of a power struggle. I was hooked the entire time and parts actually made me feel ill. Admittedly this isn’t going to be a novel suited for every reader, but my goodness I enjoyed it. Keep kitten videos on hand though, you’re going to need a bit of happiness in your life once this novel is over.

I did a round-up of the graphic novels I read last month. To be honest, I hate this post. I really couldn’t find anything to say about these comics (one of the reviews is three sentences). Bleh.

One thought on “weekly wrap-up 11/9

Leave a Reply

