Uncategorized

weekly wrap-up 11/2

NaNoWriMo is here!!! 30 days, 50,000 words, buckets of tears. Are any of you doing it this year? If so, let’s be buddies and cheer each other on! I’m feeling pretty good about this year’s story, everything clicked one morning and I pounded out today’s word goal in no time!

In addition to NaNoWriMo, November kicked off with a wedding! Matt’s aunt and her fiance were married yesterday on the steps of the Carnegie Library and it was wonderful! ♥

FOR REVIEW
The Secrets of Midwives by Sally Hepworth
A novel about three generations of midwives and they secrets they keep. I believe this is Hepworth’s debut. I love stories that follow multiple characters and there’s a good chance this one will deal with multiple eras as well! (Thank you, St. Martin’s Press!)

The Accidental Empress by Allison Pataki
In September I fell HARD for Pataki’s debut, The Traitor’s Wife. When I found out she had a new book coming out, I immediately reached out to the publisher and legit squealed when I received a copy! The Accidental Empress explores the Hapsburg Empire and I’m putting all my effort into getting ahead with NaNo so I can devote some uninterrupted reading time to sink into this story! (Thank you, Howard Books!!)

The Look of Love by Sarah Jio
I’ll admit I was a little hesitant to try this one (after my disastrous first attempt at Jio’s work. I’ve already read this one, though the review won’t be up until later this month. A woman has the ability to see love and it leads to some surprising revelations. I desperately needed something light and fluffy after reading the raw Ugly Girls (that review is coming next week) and this one did the trick. Second chances were made for Sarah Jio. (Thank you, Plume!!)

What books did YOU get this week?? Did you do anything fun and exciting this weekend??

In Case You Missed It
Lisa Van Allen’s The Night Garden was a total DNF for me. Characters I just didn’t care for, bewildering actions, and a terrible attempt at a magical aspect. This Magical Realism novel didn’t enchant me one bit.

Who wasn’t in the Halloween spirit this week?? After two long years I finally read Brian McGreevy’s Hemlock Grove and it was just as delightfully strange as the show! Definitely read this one if you’re a fan of the series or are in the mood for the supernatural.

4 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 11/2

  1. aaaah The Accidental Empress! I’ve had my eye on this one, but didnt realize it was the same author as the other book you loved so much. I’m really interested in reading your thoughts on it.

Leave a Reply

