weekly wrap-up 10/19 + winners!

Morning lovelies! How was your week? Mine was definitely eventful! Wednesday night my hometown bookshop, had a signing with Caroline Carlson and she was the sweetest person ever! She talked about her current series, The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates, and how the illustrator of the first book’s cover was an animator for Despicable Me! She also briefly mentioned a new series she’s working on – a mystery – which won’t be out yet for a few more years. The best part? When I had a chance to speak to her, we totally fangirled over Jaclyn Moriarty and Diana Wynne Jones! ♥

BOUGHT
Magic Marks the Spot & The Terror of the Southlands (The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates 1 & 2) by Caroline Carlson
Empty Mansions by Bill Dedman
Every once in a while I go on a non-fic kick. Empty Mansions reads like a mystery novel: when the reclusive heiress Huguette Clark died there was a battle over the $300 million inheritance. A home that had been empty for six decades and Gilded Age opulence certainly have my ears perked!
The Complete Short Stories of Evelyn Waugh by Evelyn Waugh
Y’all know I love me some Waugh! A friend found this one at work and I needed it in my life.
Catherine: The Great Journey (Royals Diaries) by Kristiana Gregory
I’m on a mission to complete my collection of the Dear America novels and its off-shoots! Of course I had to grab the one about Imperial Russia!
The Girl Games (Goddess Girls) by Joan Holub & Suzanne Williams
Another series I’m trying to complete!

FOR REVIEW
Ugly Girls by Lindsay Hunter
I was ecstatic when this one arrived at my door: two girls whose friendship sounds more like a frenemy relationship. A man who’s been chatting with them on facebook under the guise of a fellow student. The reality and fear that sets in when the three meet in person. I’m positive it’ll send a chill up my spine! Thank you, Farrar, Straus and Giroux!!

In Case You Missed It
Earlier this week, Matt and I celebrated our third anniversary and I shared my instalove story. As much as I gripe about instalove in novels, sometimes it can work out pretty well in real life :)

Charlie Lovett’s First Impressions was a novel I was initially hesitant about: a historical mystery involving Jane Austen and the possibility her words might have been the work of someone else. I know NOTHING about Austen and I’m wondering if that actually might have helped here! Once I started reading I couldn’t stop and I tore through this novel.

AND NOW! Last week I held two giveaways – it’s time to announce the winners!

The winner of Kate Forsyth’s Bitter Greens is…
#30, STEPHANIE H!

The winner of Diane Chamberlain’s The Silent Sister AND Necessary Lies is…
#7, ELLICE!

Congratulations, ladies!! E-mails have been sent. If I don’t hear back in 48 hours I’ll pick new winners – but trust me, you guys do not want to miss out on these books!

2 thoughts on “weekly wrap-up 10/19 + winners!

  1. Cassie says:

    YAY for Ugly Girls! I need to Goodreads this STAT!!! ALSO YAY FOR THE WINNERS!!!! <3 So cool you have author signings and such at your hometown bookshop! We don't have many round here, the closest is usually the city!

Leave a Reply

