Uncategorized

September recap

2014 is 3/4 of the way over! This year has seriously flown. The leaves have just started to change and PUMPKIN SPICE MANIA has taken over the nation. The mornings are crisp and foggy, but the chill doesn’t linger; Autumn is definitely my favorite time of the year. ♥

September was a stinky month for books, you better step up your game, October!


image via pinterest
REVIEWS

August’s DNFs
Helen Giltrow’s The Distance all but screamed my name, but this thriller did nothing for me. With a plot going nowhere, I ended up more confused than excited. Margaret Atwood’s short-story collection, Stone Mattress, is probably one I would have liked if I had stuck through to the end. With the first three stories interweaving, I mistakenly assumed the rest would follow suit.
The Girls at the Kingfisher Club by Genevieve Valentine
A fairy tale retelling set in the Jazz Age! While I didn’t dislike it, keeping track of twelve sisters was near impossible. Unfortunately, these girls became little more than character traits.
Neverhome by Laird Hunt
One of my most anticipated releases this year turned out to be the biggest disappointment. The only way I finished was because it was so short. A Civil War novel where the wife leaves her husband behind to go off and fight for the Union…and that’s where the awesome ended. There were so many scenes where logic clearly didn’t come into play and for a wartime novel there wasn’t much fighting at all. I wish I could erase this novel from my memory.
Wolf in White Van by John Darnielle
Another novel I was super excited about, another novel that completely disappointed me. I’m a big fan of The Mountain Goats so I was eager to see what Darnielle’s fiction would hold. Not much, it turns out. ..but that cover is absolutely gorgeous.
The Traitor’s Wife by Allison Pataki
September’s saving grace. I love historical fiction that deals with real historical figures. In this case, Peggy Shippen, Mrs. Benedict Arnold, is the star and her tale was incredible. I actually loved this book so much I went and bought my own copy – something I RARELY do.
The Vault of Dreamers by Caragh M. O’Brien
The start of a new series that didn’t really do much of anything, characters I couldn’t connect with, and an evil boarding school. I was sick while reading this one and I think that were it not for the DayQuil in my system, I wouldn’t have enjoyed this one too much. As it was, however, this was a great novel to read while feeling crappy: I didn’t have to put much thought into it and the pace was super quick.
Sacrifice by Brigid Kemmerer
One of my favorite series came to an end…and it was a letdown. :( Talk about a bummer!

FEATURES

my week in pictures 9/7: Penguin book truck! August recap!
my week in pictures 9/14: My birthday! Roald Dahl’s birthday! Spider bites!
my week in pictures 9/21: Bad Movie Nights! Comic book shops!

MISC

September’s Gotta Read It!
Eight novels released in September that I was itching to get my hands on! So far I’ve read two of them and will be doing a book tour for a third – not great, but not too shabby! I’m still intrigued by the remaining five and am especially excited about one of them (The Lightkeeper’s Wife).
Wait, what? The odd reasons behind book bannings
For Banned Books Week I highlighted a few of the more…interesting reasons some books have been removed from schools and libraries. Promiscuous sex, female protagonists, anti-business attitudes, a gun-toting Ernest Hemingway – what’s not to love!

2 thoughts on “September recap

Leave a Reply

