Uncategorized

wait, what? the odd reasons behind book bannings.

image via one + two

September 21-27 is Banned Books Week, a week celebrating, promoting, and bringing awareness to books that have been banned and challenged over the years. It’s sad to think that in 2014 there are still stories (childhood favorites like Harry Potter, classics like To Kill a Mockingbird) that are forcibly removed from schools and libraries. It breaks my heart knowing that all it takes it one parent’s complaint for these words and ideas to be taken away without a second thought.

I’m incredibly lucky in that my parents never censored my reading (to an extent, obvs. I wasn’t reading Cujo at 5). Whether I wanted to read a novel or not was my choice and I’m so grateful for that. ♥ Thank you, Mom & Dad!

There have been some seriously insane reasons that led to books being challenged – and even banned – and I thought this would be a perfect way to highlight them. This week, read a banned book. Spread those ideas. For more information you can visit ALA’s site.

Y’all know I love me some Roald Dahl, but he was certainly no stranger to the Challenged/Banned list. The BFG contains cannibalism; The Witches is full of misogyny; James and the Giant Peach promotes disobedience and communism.
A Wrinkle in Time was declared unfit for readers because it contained magic and a female protagonist.
The Hunger Games has been deemed Satanic and anti-family.

A Farewell to Arms has been banned in Italy because of its “painfully accurate account of the Italian retreat from Caporetto, Italy.”
You know you’ve done something right when the Nazis are enraged by your work. The Sun Also Rises was burned in Nazi bonfires.


It’s probably best not to anger Papa.

Animal Farm contains the phrase “masses will revolt.”
Brave New World “makes promiscuous sex look like fun”
Of Men and Men is not only morbid and depressing, but “Steinbeck is known to have had an anti-business attitude.” Also, readers thought this novel was “very questionable to his patriotism.”

Have you come across any odd reasons why a certain book has been banned?
6 thoughts on “wait, what? the odd reasons behind book bannings.

  1. Ack! For some reason it just posted an A…

    I was going to say:

    At my daughters’ school they are required to have a note from a parent to take out any of the House of Night series books. BUT no notes are required for any of the Ellen Hopkins books, like Tilt or Crank. I read everything my kids do, I’m a parent it’s my job to know what they’re doing. lol. But I find it hysterical that some parent got a bug up their nose about The House of Night books, but I bet you the same kid is probably reading on of Hopkins books and the parent doesn’t even notice.

Leave a Reply

