Uncategorized

my week in pictures 9/14

In case you have the crazy urge to get bit by a spider, let me be the first to tell you: don’t. I was virtually comatose all weekend and nearly had Matt post this for me yesterday! It got to the point where I had to set aside my current read (The Mathematician’s Shiva) because my brain truly couldn’t comprehend anything – although there’s math in it, so maybe it’s just me :)

ANYWAY. I’m still red and swollen and sore, but I’m up and about. Progress! So here we are, a weekly recap on a Monday. Better late than never, right?

The greatest day ever: my birthday! The party was fun, super low-key with just family. There was a tiny bit of mayhem when the candles began melting and the entire cake nearly caught on fire! ¡Qué desastre!

Because we began the week with my birthday, it was only fitting to end it on Roald Dahl’s. September 13 is Roald Dahl Day (for previous years + reviews, head here!). Though I didn’t get around to posting anything, although if we’re facebook buddies you might have seen a mention there, I managed to read The Great Switcheroo (short stories were ideal for me this weekend!) and I’m not at all surprised it was originally published in Playboy. If you weren’t aware Dahl also wrote stories for adults, after this one you definitely will be. Two men are lusting after the other’s wife and concoct a plan to switch places in the middle of the night in order to act out their fantasies with the other woman. Certainly not one for the kiddies!

Also, there was a previously unpublished chapter of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory that was released!

BOUGHT
Officers and Gentlemen by Evelyn Waugh
Y’all should know by now I love me some Waugh and continue in my quest to own everything he’s written.
The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller
I’ve been eager to get my hands on a copy of this since I first heard of it and it was a total no-brainer for my Priority shelf.
The Diviners by Libba Bray
I absolutely loved this book (my review) but didn’t actually own a copy. FIXED!
The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes
Another book on my Priority shelf and one that comes highly recommended from Claire Legrand. This is a Thriller that involves some sci-fi elements (a serial killer is able to jump through time to choose the right moment to murder his victims). VERY intriguing!

GIFTED
The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters
Hannah is too good to me. She wasn’t planning on reading this one, so she offered to send it my way – thank you xo! 1920s London. A widow and her adult daughter are struggling and open their home to lodgers. Little do they know, the couple they take in will turn their lives upside-down.

FOR REVIEW
The Vault of Dreamers by Caragh M. O’Brien
I debated adding this one to my September’s Gotta Read It! post, and a few days later it arrived at my door! This one sounds like a total whirlwind: the most elite arts school in the country televises the students’ every moment. The students are given sleeping pills (up to 12 hours) in order to enhance creativity, but when one student skips her pill she realizes the school is hiding a sinister secret.
The Graham Cracker Plot by Shelley Tougas
Middle Grade! Believing her dad was wrongfully imprisoned, Daisy hatches a plan to break him out. This one sounds totally adorable and fun.

Thank you, Roaring Brooks Press!

In Case You Missed It
Neverhome was an absolute dud. Worse than a dud. This was one of my most anticipated novels of the year and it was SO disappointing I actually took it personally. 1/5

2 thoughts on “my week in pictures 9/14

Leave a Reply

