Uncategorized

my week in pictures 8/31

So long, August! How crazy is that? Though it means my birthday is only a week away. Bring it, cake.

The early part of the week was spent celebrating my dad’s birthday and, silly me, I forgot to take pictures. Except for the chickens – I’m from the country so it’s a normal thing for a horde of turkeys to randomly waltz down the road. Haha, I love Matt’s reactions to this strange new world (he’s a total city boy). There were some chickens wandering about the yard and of course I had to snap a few pictures! The best part though? A cousin I haven’t seen in years is back in town & it was lovely seeing her. We’ve got so much to catch up on! Being cousins when you’re 8 is completely different than being cousins in your 20s and I’m thrilled to get to know her all over again!

Remember when I was on vacation a few weeks ago and mentioned the kitty my friends brought? Matt and I fell madly in love with Leo (♥ such a charmer!) and he surprised me this weekend by announcing Leo would be staying with us for a few days! So he doesn’t look at all happy in the picture (he was dying to jump around on my desk) but he’s a total cuddlemuffin and I’ll be sad when we give him back tomorrow.

I received a ton of books this week:
FROM THE LIBRARY
The Traitor’s Wife by Allison Pataki
While my heart lies with the Civil War, the Revolution was a fascinating time and this novel follows the wife of Benedict Arnold. I know I’ll be in for a great time with this one!
The Daring Ladies of Lowell by Kate Alcott
More Historical Fiction! This one takes place in the 1830s in a textile mill and follows the factory girl who falls for the mill owner’s son. Yes please!

FOR REVIEW
Bitter Greens by Kate Forsyth
A retelling of Rapunzel set in France during the reign of King Louis XIV. Um yes. Even more exciting: I was asked to participate in the blog tour! YAY.
Wouldn’t it Be Deadly by D.E. Ireland
This is the first in the Eliza Doolittle & Henry Higgins series. And, really, that’s all you need to know that this series will be amazing.
Wolf in White Van by John Darnielle
I love me some Mountain Goats and when I heard John was coming out with a novel you bet I needed it in my life. I’m currently reading it and it’s such a hipster book – but I am all. about. hipster books (and the cover is SO SHINY). Keep an eye out for a review soon!
The Mathematician’s Shiva by Stuart Rojstaczer
Okay, not gonna lie: the math part worries terrifies me. I am NOT a math kind of gal. It sounds great though and has been compared to Michael Chabon’s works – a definite plus!

(A big THANK YOU to Farrar, Straus and Giroux, Minotaur Books, Penguin, & Thomas Dunne Books!!)

In Case You Missed It
Delia Ephron’s Sister Mother Husband Dog (etc.) is a slim collection of essays and my emotions ran the gamut. From thoughts on her sister’s passing to why her dad would have been the greatest tweeter ever, Delia’s essays are sure to resonate with readers. 3/5
brown girl dreaming was my introduction to Jacqueline Woodson and it this book isn’t in your hands right now you need to fix that. This is her memoir – written in verse – about her childhood in the South. GORGEOUS. Breathtaking. Beautiful. I cannot say enough about this book. 5/5

4 thoughts on “my week in pictures 8/31

  1. aaaaah I’ve been so looking forward to Bitter Greens! I’m excited you’ll be reviewing it. Definitely keeping an eye out for that and crossing my fingers you love it.

  2. i seriously just picked up bitter greens last night! hope we both love it – the reviews i’ve seen have all been excellent. :)

Leave a Reply

